Uncategorized

quick & simple golden fried rice (3 different sauces to choose)

 

I had some leftover rice in the fridge the other day and this is most suitable for making fried rice, as the rice would have dried out slightly, this is ideal for a best result of a fried rice that the rice should not stick together in big clumps.  

You can be as creative as you like when making fried rice. For a basic tasty fried rice, there are two must-have ingredients you should have in my opinion: egg and spring onion (or some frozen peas & carrots).

 

2 persons portion

Ingredients:

  • 2 bowls of leftover rice (long grain or Japanese rice are both suitable)
  • 1-2 sprig spring onion chopped
  • 2 eggs whisked
  • 4 pieces ham (any type) cut in small pieces
  • frozen green peas and carrots (optional)
  • 3/4 tsp of shrimp paste dissolved in a small amount of water
  • 2 tbsp cooking oil

 

Method:

  • Heat up the wok or pan (non-stick ones as they need less oil), add in the oil. When the oil is hot enough, add in the rice and keep stirring with a wooden spatula until the rice is not sticking to each other
  • Then add in the whisked egg, ham and spring onion, quickly stir and then finally add in the shrimp paste, keep stirring until all ingredients are thoughoutly mixed
  • Serve immediately when hot.

 

Notes:

  • You may find shrimp paste smells pretty strong when cooking but you don’t need to worry as like my hubby said it tastes less strong when you eat so don’t be scare.
  • Shrimp paste can be found in any Chinese or Thai groceries shops.
  • For a more sophisticated fried rice, you can use fresh shrimps or other meat but I usually make fried rice for convenience reason as a quick lunch. I will just use whatever I can find in the fridge
  • If you do not like the taste of shrimp paste, you can use 3 tbsp of ketchup (tomato sauce) instead and season with a little garlic salt and some coarse peppers.This is what I want to use initally (it is my favorite version of fried rice prepared by my mom since I was little) but I have run out of ketchup that day so I have used shrimp paste instead which is more of a Thai style fried rice.
  • If you don’t like either ketchup or shrimp paste, I still have a 3rd version for you: you can use 2 tbsp of light soy sauce instead, no salt is needed if you take this option.
  • We called it golden fried rice because it looks golden when the rice is coated with egg.

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “quick & simple golden fried rice (3 different sauces to choose)

  1. I love the way you format the recipe. It’s easy to read and follow. I look forward to trying this out as well as some of your other ones.

    Hi Aaron, many thanks for your feedback. Really appreciate it. You know when you keep on doing it, sometimes you don’t know how good or bad it is. Let me know if you have any further comments of how to make my blog even better and result of your dishes.Cheers

  2. Sometimes I don’t have enough rice leftover to make a stir-fry, so I freeze it in zip lock bags. Thaw before using.

  3. I like the way you make the recipe so flexible. I also agree that the two essentials to fried rice is egg and spring onion!
    Other stuff that would taste good is char siu, lettuce, tomato… usually my family cooks everything separately and throws it all in together, which makes the whole dish have a lot of “wok hei” and fragrant, but I guess your technique is good for a ‘softer’ taste where the ingredients meld together.

    Yeah, if you are not concerned with the fatty issue, of course that will be even more tasty as what you described, I wish I could get Char Siu (Chinese Roast Pork) in Switzerland but no luck, even I can get them, they are not the same. I would not say that is my best bowl of fried rice but good enough, tasty, healthy and quick. I usually make fried rice spontaneously because I have leftover. Lucky you that you have your dad making you delicious fried rice.

Leave a Reply

