Uncategorized

summer vacation in southwest France: Part III: panfried white fish with red gooseberries sauce

Visiting the food markets in France reminds me the food markets in my home town….

Food markets in Hong Kong

Being a Chinese, food markets is nothing new to me. In Asia, outdoor food markets are very common. When I was little, I never like going to these markets with my mom because the floors are wet and you can be splashed with some water from the vegetable stalls when they spray water to keep the vegetable fresh or even blood from the fish stalls. It’s also very hot in summers. Nowadays, a lot of improvements done, most of them are now covered markets and much cleaner. These markets are not replaceble by supermarkets even in metropolitan cities like Hong Kong, this is because the food is guaranteed to be fresher and you get more choices there.

 

Food market in Sarlat

There were many farms when we were driving pass the Dordogne area, I wish we could stay longer to visit the walnut oil mill and buy some local produce directly from the farms. Nevertheless, I was still lucky to be able to experience the Sunday Market in Sarlat and another market just outside Sarlat.

We have bought some fish from the supermarket and I thought of just simply panfried it and accompanied with the local vegetables but then I realised that I have forgotten the lemon. Luckily, from the French biweekly food magazine (Vie Pratique Gourmand) I bought, I was inspired to make a red gooseberries sauce to go with it. I was wondering how to eat these berries as they are a bit too sour for me. In the end, the result of this dish was very appetizing and satisfying. I was very pleased with this food magazine because there were many more things I discovered here which hopefully could widen my horizons in cooking and ideas of take food photos.

 

Serves 3

Ingredients:

  • 3 white fish fillets (see notes)
  • 1 pack of red gooseberries
  • ‘Ratte’ new potatoes (see notes)
  • Courgettes
  • Onions
  • 3 cloves violet garlic cut in slices
  • Provencal herbs
  • Walnut oil or Olive Oil
  • Salt and Pepper
  • 3 tbsp Brown sugar
  • butter

 

Method:

  1. Season the fish fillets with salt, coarsed black pepper and sprinkled some provencal herbs on top.
  2. Wash the new potatoes by rubbing any soil around them.
  3. Cut the onions and courgettes into slices.
  4. Wash the red gooseberries, marcerate them by adding the brown sugar to them, leave for 15 mins or so. Cook the berries in a saucepan in medium high heat, squash the berries until it becomes a sauce and set aside.
  5. Boil the new potatoes for about 20 mins.
  6. Panfry the fish with walnut or olive oil, cook each side for about 3 mins or when they turn golden brown.
  7. Heat some oil in another pan, put the garlic in, when it turns slightly golden brown, add in the onions, stir fry for 1 mins and then add in the courgettes. Season with some salt and pepper and a little herbs if you like. Stir fry until they are cooked.
  8. When everything is ready, reheat the sauce and ready to serve.

 

Notes:

  • Any white fish would be suitable, I have in fact cooked this dish again immediately after the holiday as I have lost the pictures accidentally by deleting them (see comment in Part II), the first time I used Pangasius and the second time at home, I have used a fish we bought in France called Filet de Fletan which the lady from the supermarket claimed that this fish was fresher but strangely I still preferred pangasius fish more as it smelt less fishy.
  • The Ratte new potatoes you see in the picture are very tiny and young ones, if you can get hold of these potatoes, do try them out as they are not always available. I am normally not so fond of potatoes but these ones are so cute and tasted the best which made them irresistable. Add some butter when serving the potatoes.

 

For more gooseberries recipes, please click here.

One thought on “summer vacation in southwest France: Part III: panfried white fish with red gooseberries sauce

Leave a Reply

