Uncategorized

a culinary tale of two cities: part II amsterdam

I was very lucky with the weather in Amsterdam as it had been raining in the last few days. It’s still a bit chilly in the morning so I went into a patisserie for a nice cup of coffee and ordered Ossenworst.

 

Ossenworst (in Dutch: ossen means oxen; worst means sausage)

as seen in #7136 foodgawker, 16.10.08

 

The waitress thought I could speak Dutch because I ordered Ossenworst broodje’ which is quite a local dutch delicacy, she asked in Dutch if I want to have soft bread (a bun) hard bread (small baguette), and of course I did not know what she meant at the beginning but we managed to figure out.

To me ossenworst is very similar to steak tartare to me. I was told that it is brought in to Holland by the Jewish. My hubby never eats steak tartare but he eats ossenworst, how strange!!! A little background about Ossenworst is that it has existed since the 17th century. This was when oxen became widely imported from Denmark and Germany. There are several spices in the sausages namely pepper, cloves, mace and nutmeg which were imported from Dutch East Indies which has then become Indonesia). You can buy Ossenworst in some Dutch supermarket or butchers but I don’t find that is so easily found. My aunt told me that the most convenient place that you can buy is from HEMA’s food counter. HEMA is a very popular retail store in Netherlands. I love this store especially the stores in Amsterdam which they are much bigger than those outside the city.

I only had two hours in town before meeting my aunt and hubby for lunch in Amstel. So I took tram 9 to Waterlooplein and walked to Nieuwmarkt to check out the chinese grocery shop, it is so nice that they have more choices of chinese vegetables as compared to Switzerland. I bought Pak Choi (the proper ones) and Tong O (I personally would call it Chinese Rocket/ Rucola which has a pretty strong taste as well). I wish I could stock up more back to Switzerland in our car, they even have winter melon but there is no way I can consume that fast.

Pak Choi
Left: Tong O; Right: Pak Choi

For lunch my aunt took us to Grand Café Klein Frankendael (It has added Klein which means small in Dutch because there is a Grand Frankendael next block). She is a frequent customer. My hubby has been here once and he likes the chicken satay here, that’s why we decided to come here so he could order the satay again. I ordered the same dish, the portion was just right not too big. I enjoyed the food and atmosphere here, this place is already more than 100 years old but it’s not noticeable at all.

But what I like most was the cappuccino, for any types of coffee you order, they will offer you a small glass of ‘slagroom’ (whipped cream in English) with a little amaretto liqueur at the bottom (for free of charge!!!) and accompany with a small glass of water and a very tasty cookie. Hmm, this cream was so yummy, Dutch dairy is always good in any case. The whole package together is just so unique! 

 

And that’s all for this visit. I am sure I will come back to Amsterdam from time to time, there are many more for me to discover. Till next time …..

10 thoughts on “a culinary tale of two cities: part II amsterdam

  1. I’d love to visit that town! Nice sandwich!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

    Hi Rosa, Frankendael is just a few stops away from heart of Amsterdam, very easy to go. I was there after 2pm so it was less crowded. My aunt told me that Friday evenings are very busy as alot of people who work outside AMS will want to have dinner first before driving home to avoid the traffic jam.

  2. In Geneva we can get a pretty full range of chinese vegetables; if you are ever down this way let me know and I will show you where my favourite asian grocer is!

    Oh great! Thanks for your kind offer : )

  3. Amsterdam is an interesting city, lived there for a while a long time ago. Hema is just great ya? I love Febo as well… is it still there?

    HEMA is great indeed. I have not been to Febo myself, my hubby said it still exist, they are the automated snack bars? I found the automated snack bars are like those in Japan, I find it interesting to see similar setting in Holland. I like the Dutch snack bars alot, they don’t feel that oily.

  4. My mother is always cooking. I will let my mother read this. I am sure she will like your blog. Thank you for sharing this to us. My family will like this too.

Leave a Reply

