Uncategorized

asparagus lemongrass cappuccino

asparagus lemongrass cappuccino 01

With some asparagus and lemongrass stock left from the asparagus bacon risotto. I made two glasses of asparagus cappuccino as starter the following day, it was like the frothy soup I have tried in the gourmet restaurants : ) This soup is very light and healthy, you will be amazed that you can get a creamy result without using cream.

Serves 2

Ingredients:

  • 150g asparagus stems, trimmed & chopped into small pieces 
  • half small onion, finely chopped
  • Semi-skimmed milk 50ml for the soup, 100ml for frothing
  • 200ml Lemongrass stock
  • 2 tsp Unblanched ground almonds
  • salt
  • 1 tbsp olive oil

Directions:

  • Heat up the olive oil in a deep aluminum pan, add the onion the let it sweat for a few minutes at medium high heat. Keep stiring.
  • Add in the asparagus and stir fry for a few minutes until they turn a little like transparent.
  • Pour in the stock, bring to boil and then simmer at medium heat for about 30 mins and until the liquid is reduced one-third. Pour the mixture into a blender and blend until smooth.
  • Pour the soup back to the pan, add in 50ml milk, warm it up again but be careful not to overheat. Taste to see if need to season with some salt.
  • To serve, warm up 100ml milk, using a cappuccino frother to whiz the milk to make it frothy.
  • Pour the soup into 2 glasses and top up with the frothy milk.
  • Garnish by sprinkle some unblanched ground almonds on top and serve immediately.

Enjoy!

 

17 thoughts on “asparagus lemongrass cappuccino

  1. Wow! This is a unique drink and I’ve got it on my list of must-try or more appropriately adapt recipes. Last year, I created an asparagus drink called Asparagus Cooler – it is so refreshing and taste lovely. What really intrigues me about this drink is the use of milk in the mix. Being a raw vegan, I’ll adapt this recipe to suit my dietary lifestyle, so I’ll tweak the recipe and use a nut or seed based milk, like almond milk and juice the asparagus. I can’t wait to experiment. Thanks for sharing this awesome recipe.

    Ingrid’s last blog post..Effects of Cooking on Vitamins and Minerals

  2. Hi Ganga, thanks for stopping by. I am hoping to move to a new blog theme in a few mths time, hope it will be okay. I am not a techie person. BTW, how do you make your photo gallery on your blog? So nice!!!!!

  3. MMMMM..I love the combination of asparagus & lemongrass, I like to cook them together too. I think those flavours go well together.
    I just discovered your blog & I am glad that I did!
    Many greetings from sunny Brussels, Belgium!

  4. Hi Sophie, thanks for stopping by and your comment, really appreciate it. It’s only my first and second time using this combination and I am surprised they blend so well together. Sunny greetings from Basel, Switzerland too!

Leave a Reply

