Uncategorized

my perfect healthy banana bread

Banana Bread 01

Most of us would have ripe bananas at home from time to time and what will you do with them? Banana bread is best solution rather than throw them away. I personally like to eat my bananas a little unriped. I have been trying numerous versions of banana bread lately and finally last week I found one that I like most and have used it as a base and adapted from this recipe from Recipeland.com  to fit to my desired taste. Now I can make banana bread again and again without looking around anymore. The beauty of this recipe is that it does not contain any butter but it still tastes spongy, moist and rich. Basically I replaced part of the sugar with maple syrup and I added one more egg, my favorite ingredients namely, cinnamon and poppy seeds.

 

Ingredients:

  • 4 ripe bananas
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup apple sauce
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • 3 large eggs
  • 2 cups of flour + 2 extra tbsp
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 3 tbsp poppy seeds
  • Another variation I will do is to replace the poppy seeds with 2 handful of  coarsely chopped Walnuts.

 

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 175ºC (350ºF).
  2. Place the ripe bananas in a large mixing bowl and mash with a potato masher.
  3. Add in the sugar, maple syrup, apple sauce, eggs and vanilla essence. Blend well with an electric mixer.
  4. In a separate bowl, mix in other dry ingredients: flour, baking powder, baking soda, poppy seeds and cinnamon.
  5. Add in the dry ingredients in step 4 to the banana mix and mix well.
  6. Grease a loaf tin and dust some flour on it.
  7. Pour the mixture into the loaf tin 3 quarters full and bake for 50mins or until a wooden stick comes out clean after inserting into the middle. (If you have excess of the mixture, you can bake a few muffins.)
  8. Remove the tin from the oven and let it cool for 10 minutes before removing from the tin.
  9. Cool the banana bread on a cooling rack.

Banana bread 02

Enjoy!

19 thoughts on “my perfect healthy banana bread

  1. WOw..no butter!! That’s really not fattening, I getta try to make some too. I love your banana bread, the last one you gave me was so good already, I wonder how does this one taste!! Right on!!

    carmen’s last blog post..Latino Sushi Session

  2. How many years you’ve learnt cooking? I also see many talented works you made and really much appreciated. This banana bread looks delicious I must say, I like banana cakes and breads and all sort of stuff.

  3. Since I was a teenager when my dad asked me to help my mom in the kitchen and then got some Domestic Science classes in school and then real practice, trial & error and most importantly PASSION.

  4. I used to try various recipes of banana bread as well. This one of yours definitely looks remarkable! Those baking I did in the past, I didn’t mind low-fat version as long as they’er moist. Your bread looks so spongy and tender, and so clever to use apple sauce to moisten the crumbe. Can’t wait to try! *flying a kiss to you for sharing this wonderful recipe 🙂 *

    gattina’s last blog post..Simple cookies (made out of hard-boiled yolk)

  5. I love this healthy version! Replacing oil with applesauce is one of my favorite tricks.

    I really like the addition of poppy seeds, I’ve never thought of it but am sure I’d love it.

  6. How many cups of mashed banana did you add? Bananas vary so much in length and availablity that its hard to say “add 4 ripe bananas”. If the bananas are 3.5 ounces apiece, then 4 bananas weigh 14oz. However, if the bananas weigh 6 ounces apiece, then 4 bananas weigh 24 ounces….that a 10oz difference and dramatic alteration in the final bread. Do you have a weight or cup measurement for the recipe’s bananas?

  7. I added 2 tbl of grounded flax seed, subbed 1/4 cup dried sweetened coconut and 1/4 cup of brown sugar for the 3/4 cup of brown sugar. The bread turned out perfect, spongy and flavorful. Thanks much for the recipe.

Leave a Reply

