Uncategorized

homemade Gianduja Chocolate ice cream (made without machine !!!)

Gianduja choco ice cream

I have wanted to making some homemade ice cream for a long time but I do not want to buy an ice cream machine, not just only because of the cost but also the space that would take up in the kitchen. Anyway there are not many choices of ice cream machines available in Switzerland. I do not think the Ice Cream Companies encourage people making homemade ice cream.

Anyway I do not think I will really make ice cream that so very often therefore I could imagine that for half of the time it would be covered with dust. I would not mind to buy one that does not need electricity, like this one but they do not ship to Switzerland.

I thought making ice cream is something not that approachable but it came out to be that easy and my first attempt came out a great success. I have searched in the internet of how to make ice cream without ice cream machine and this perfect blog post written by David Lebovitz has convinced to give a shot. David has a book all about ice cream called A Pefect Scoop, I want to owe this book already.

Of course it is more time consuming to make it this way but when I saw the results, it’s totally worth it. And what I used were the following basic kitchen utensils:

  • Saucepan
  • Glass or ceramic Mixing bowl
  • Electric Hand Mixer/ Blender
  • Wooden Spatula
  • Large Stainless Steel Mixing Bowl !!! (I got mine from IKEA, you can use any bowls that can be kept in freezer but stainless steel seems fastest to cool down and therefore works best)
  • Plastic container

So you see,  all of you would have these utensils at home!

Most people will go for making Vanilla Ice Cream for their first attempt but I went for Gianduja & Chocolate flavor. There is another story behind it, I had a divine Gianduja gelato as dessert in a really nice restaurant, Antiche Carampane in Venice. After that lovely dinner, I had been looking for Gianduja hazelnut paste, and finally I found it. I want to make this flavor of ice cream to rediscover the taste I am still missing. And this is the real motive behind which drove me to make my own ice cream.

Homemade Gianduja Choco ice cream

I should wait for another hour but find it irresistible to scoop out already!

Makes 3-4 servings

Ingredients:

  • 1 & 1/2 cup full cream
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup caster sugar
  • 50g dark chocolate, chopped
  • 3 tbsp Gianduja crème
  • 3 egg yolks, lightly beaten
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla essence

Directions:

  1. Put the Stainless steel bowl in the freezer at least an hour in advance.
  2. Make a water bath: in a pan, bring some water to boil and then keep it simmering at medium heat. Place sugar, cream, milk and chocolate into a heatproof bowl and place in the water bath. Keep stirring with  a wooden spoon until the sugar and chocolate are melted. Remove the bowl from heat and let it cool down slightly.
  3. In a separate bowl, beat the egg yolks lightly and add in the vanilla essence. Use a whisker or electric mixer, whisk in the yolk mixture into the cream mixture gradually, keep the mixer on for about a minute or so.
  4. Turn the mixture into a saucepan and heat it at medium heat, keep stirring and do not bring to to boil. You will see the mixture gets thicker and foamy quickly. You can stop when the mixture can coat your wooden spoon. This step should only take a minute or two maximum.
  5. Now take the stainless steel bowl out of the freezer and pour in the ice cream mixture into the bowl. Return the bowl back to the freezer and allow to chill for about 45 minutes.
  6. Take the bowl out from the freezer, you should see the mixture around the edges become solid. Use the wooden spoon stir to mix. Put back to the freezer and repeat this for about 4 times. By this time, you see the creamy ice cream mixture is getting close to ready.
  7. You can transfer this to a plastic container, covered and leave it for another 2 hours or until firm.
  8. Scoop and enjoy!

Making ice cream can’t be easier!!! I am ready to try to make other flavors : )

Below are some snapshots of my ice cream making process, you will see what you will expect.

1st 45 mins

after first 45 mins

dsc_0308

after 2.5 hrs freezing (you can just leave the wooden spoon in the freezer, even more hygiene than taking out)

dsc_0310

 after 4 times churning, the ice cream mixture was transferred to a plastic container for further freezing

dsc_0313

after 4 hrs, look at the beautiful ice cream texture

overnight freezing

this is how it looks after overnight freezing

24 thoughts on “homemade Gianduja Chocolate ice cream (made without machine !!!)

  1. Lucky you! You should try it, homemade & FRESH ice cream is guaranteed without additives & it’s unbelievably easy to make : )

  2. I’m a big David Lebovitz fan…have you seen the post about Flo Braker’s Almond Bread Cookies? They are super thin and crisp and would be really nice with a scoop of this ice cream. I will have to give them a try together!

  3. Oh really, thanks Debbie, I was also thinking what I can match with the ice cream, thanks for the tips! I will check it out shortly.

  4. Hi Natalie, yes, I feel I save some money without the need of the ice cream machine. Maybe machine can make a bigger portion but I do like this small batch which we can finish quickly and then make another fresh one or another flavor. Let me know how it goes : )

  5. It looks incredible! I’ve been wanting to make ice cream, but I don’t have an ice cream maker either. This is a great technique, and now I have to try it!

  6. Ah yes, this is right up my alley … one of my favorite combos … chocolate AND ice cream. What a great way to do it without the fuss of a big noisy machine. Thanks for sharing. – Kyle

  7. I handmade only once a kilo of cherries for Cherry Sorbet. Later on, I bought a Kenwood IM 200 Ice cream machine for 40.5 € for my ice cream treats. I definitely need to use hands to made ice creams as I have to travel a lot this Summer 😀 I’m a fan of David Lebovitz as well.
    .-= pixen´s last blog ..Fresh Thai Pineapple & Cucumber Salad =-.

  8. Hey i can not express my self how much glad i am after reading this i was searching like that as i love eating Ice cream and i wanted to make such idea if making ice cream without machine as i was not having machine thanks for sharing this i will try this.

Leave a Reply

