Uncategorized

homemade japanese sesame ice cream (made without ice cream machine !!!)

Japanese sesame ice cream_366

I have been busy with Spring cleaning, never like cleaning but don’t know why I got into mood of tidying up things. There are days like this, I suppose. Our garden is now in good shape & the terrace is finished, many thanks to my in-laws and my hubby : ) Now we have to wait for the terrace furniture but unfortunately gotta wait until late June as the model we chose are selling too well. I guess the shop does not expect to have such good response in the current economic environment and did not dare to keep too many in the inventory.

And in the coming days, we have to start working and planning for our vegetable garden, really looking forward to having your own vegetables again, they really taste better and more special.

As for cooking, these two weeks I have been exploring in making ice cream without electric ice cream machine, after the big success with the Giandaja Chocolate flavor, I could not wait to explore other flavors. I made a green tea flavor for my friend Carmen, I made it without yolks since she is expecting a baby and it’s better to be on the safe side, and I found out that using sweet condensed milk is a great solution to avoid egg yolks and the ice cream came out as creamy.

I have been missing the Japanese ice cream, the most popular flavors are probably green tea and black sesame. I could get green tea in the Japanese restaurants here in Switzerland but no luck for the black sesame flavor so I attempted to make myself and it proved that it’s actually not that difficult. My version is probably more fibery as I grounded 90% of the toasted sesame seeds and the rest were keep ungrounded. So here is another long-lost taste I have rediscovered, and I can sit back and relax my favorite ice cream at home, even freshly made.

 

Make almost 3 cups (700ml)

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 cups (360ml) full cream
  • 0.5 cup (120ml) semi skimmed milk
  • 80 ml sweet condensed milk/ maple syrup
  • 1 tsp castor sugar
  • 4 egg yolks
  • 50g black sesame seeds
  • 50g white sesame seeds
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence

Directions:

  1. The method is not much different to the Gianduja Chocolate flavor, except I have used 4 yolks instead of 3 this time and have used sweet condensed milk instead of castor sugar. You can refer to my other Gianduja chocolate ice cream for more information of my first ice cream making experience.
  2. Several hours ahead, place a stainless steel bowl in the freezer.
  3. Toast the sesame seeds on a pan, be careful not to burn them. Ground 90% of the seeds with a pestle & mortar. The rest keeps aside.
  4. In a mixing bowl, beat the eggs with the sugar & vanilla essence for a minute or so.
  5. In a large saucepan, pour in the milk, full cream and sweet condensed milk (maple syrup), heat it up without boiling. Stop when you can see hint of steam coming up. Keep stiring to avoid burning. Pour this mixture into the beaten eggs gradually. Mix with an electric blender at medium speed.
  6. When the cream and egg mixtures are mixed together, turn the mixture back to the saucepan and put the heat on again. Keep stirring with a wooden spoon, you will see the custard mixture will get thicker very quickly, you can stop when the mixture is thick enough to coat the spoon. Your ice cream mixture is now ready.
  7. Take the pre-frozen stainless steel bowl out from the freezer. Pour the ice cream mixture to the bowl, add in the all the toasted sesames, stir with the wooden spoon until mixed and put the bowl back to the freezer.
  8. Take the bowl from the freezer every 30-40 mins, stir with the wooden spoon. You will see the sides of the ice cream mixture begins to freeze, scrap them off to mix with the non-frozen mixture. The sesame seeds may sink to the bottom, stir until mixed again. Repeat until the ice cream mixture gets thick enough, close to the consistency of the ice cream. This will take 4-5 times.
  9. Transfer the ice cream mixture to a plastic container and freezer for another 1-2 hour or until the ice cream is fully set.
  10. Scoop to a nice bowl and enjoy!
32 thoughts on “homemade japanese sesame ice cream (made without ice cream machine !!!)

  1. Hi Peter, maybe because Sesame seeds exist in chinese desserts all along so we did not find it too strange, rather, seeing the Japanese spining this flavor and applying on Ice cream do give us a nice surprise the first time we tried.

  2. Both your ice-creams look delicious! I´ve never tried green tea or sesame flavoured ice cream but would like too esp. after reading your post! I´ve been wanting to try to make my own ice cream but haven´t got round to it yet!

  3. awesome. woo thanks. ive been trying to figure out how to make corn icecream without a maker (yeah im poor) and i think i will try your method. ahhh hooray! the party im making this all for is on saturday! im cutting it close! thanks for the tips~

  4. gorgeous! I love all things Japanese so I think I will lick up every single drop of the ice cream. Have fun with your vegetable garden =)

  5. Hi all, I am glad that I am not the only one who have not made homemade ice creeam, it’s easier that making cakes I find. The challenge may be to have a freezer big enough to fit in the bowl and you will need a free afternoon or evening to churn every 30-40 mins. I cannot tell you how excited it is to have your ice cream freshly made yourself. Do give a go, it’s fun to do and certainly will impress your family and friends. One of my friends said she will place an order and pay me of making her an ice cream because her freezer is not big enough.

  6. Hi Natalie, you are right, if you can get hold of the Japanese green powder, that would be great, just use 3 tsp in replace of the sesame seeds, that should do. Taste the ice cream mixture, add more to adjust to your personal taste, some people like it stronger.

  7. great recipe! i made this for mother’s day and it was a hit. i had a problem grinding the sesame seeds, but that’s because i didnt have the right stuff to do so. thanks!

  8. Hi Trish, thanks for letting me know that it went so well. I am sure you will make again & again! It’s now one of your signature desserts too!!!

  9. This actually makes my mouth water, the ice cream looks beautifully creamy. I’ll try this some day. Thanks Jan

  10. Super duper yummy! You must try the White Sesame Ice Cream too. One of my local Japanese Restaurant I frequent to made White Sesame Ice Cream besides the usual Green tea Ice Cream with Anko. Lots of people prefers Black Sesame ice cream, especially women because it said to be good for hair I only knew it’s great with Shou Wu for stronger and shiny black hair. Problem with me was, I got the extra ~ my curly hair is curlier than ever LOL.
    .-= pixen´s last blog ..Fresh Thai Pineapple & Cucumber Salad =-.

  11. I have actually used some white sesames in this ice cream, have not thought of just using white ones. In CH, Movenpick has a very nice new flavor which is coconut and sesame, I want to try to make it at home one day.

  12. Hello, this ice cream looks delicious. Thank you for posting the recipe. I do have one question about “sweet condensed milk/ maple syrup”. Does that mean sweet condensed milk AND maple syrup? If so how much maple syrup? Or does that mean sweet condensed milk OR Maple syrup? If so, in the same amounts?

    Thank you, I can’t wait to make this!
    Marty

  13. Hello again, I just had another thought, do you think that Tahini paste could be substituted for the sesame seeds (at least the 90% that is ground)?

    Thank you
    Marty

  14. Hi Marty, thanks for stopping by and your comment. Re: your question, I mean you can use 80ml sweet condensed milk OR 80ml maple syrup.Cheers, Janet

  15. Hi Marty, to your 2nd question, I don’t recommend you use tahini paste, it’s too fine and has oil in the paste. Only sesame seeds can give you the real and desired flavor. Let me know the results, hope you will enjoy the sesame ice cream as much as I do.

Leave a Reply

