Uncategorized

insalata di rucola

Rucola salad

Just came back from UK, almost time for dinner, I had to figure out something quick, nice and light for dinner. We had some very nice artichoke and veal ravioli in the freezer but there was no parmesan cheese at home so we stopped by the new ALDI in our neighbourhood to get some. There we found some fresh rucola (arugula or rocket) and my favorite prociutto crudo. ALDI products are really value for money, it proved me wrong that being priced lower does not mean that it is not good quality. My in-laws are big fans of ALDI, Holland. When they came to visit us in Switzerland, I had so much fun shopping with them in ALDI, sharing with me their best buys, unfortunately the Dutch Vla & cheese are not available here. The prosciutto was discovered by them and now I like this one better than other normal supermarkets here as this one tastes just right, not too salty. Now I have a new food shopping cost-saving strategy, if time allows, I would first go to ALDI first to buy the things I could find there, and then I will go the normal supermarket to buy the outstanding items.

So here I made a light and refreshing rucola salad with a raspberry vinegar dressing I found in the internet at starter:

Serves 2

Ingredients:

  • 3 slices prosciutto crudo
  • 2 handful of rucola, washed and drained
  • fresh grated parmesan cheese

Raspberry Vinegar Dressing (makes about 1/3 cup):

  • 3 tbsp raspberry vinegar
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • fresh ground salt & black pepper

Directions:

  • Make the salad dressing by adding the vinegar, honey and olive oil in a mixing bowl. Season with some ground salt and pepper. Blend well using a whisk.
  • Divide the rucola on two serving plates. Tear the prosciutto into large pieces and lay on top of the greens.
  • Spoon the salad dressing on the salad and finish off by grating some parmesan cheese on top, amount according to your desire.
  • Serve immediately.
17 thoughts on “insalata di rucola

  1. Hi lk, I am surprised too ALDI had such good stuff too! Here in Switzerland, they have a lot of nice BBQ meat & various veg. The limes & lemons which come in packs are good deal, they have bio veg., eggs…………

  2. Hi gaga, I agree with you, I learnt from Jamie Oliver that tossing the rucola with some lemon juice is so good & simple, I love rucola, prosciutto & mushrooms for my pizza toppings.

  3. oh,you just got Aldi in Switzerland..yeah, I agree.. Aldi is really value for money. They do Weekly Super 6, that means 6 type of fruits or veg at only 49 – 79 cents. sometimes even organic produce. only in the recent time when recession hits, ppl realise that it’s the sensible place to do shopping as opposed to giant supermaket chains of Tesco and stuff in Ireland..(and I believe UK too)

    adel’s last blog post..Oregano Chicken Paillard

  4. Hi Adel, we do have ALDI in CH for some time but not in my nearby neighbourhood, now this one is just minutes away from my home : ) Thanks for stopping by.

  5. A delicious Salad, Janet!!!! Simple, quick and healthy… what else can one ask for?

    You were quick this time and came to see the omelets before I could tell you. Thanks!
    My daughter is travelling to Switzerland for 5 days in June with her School. She’ll visit Berna, Interlaken and Geneva. My first trip outside Spain also was to Switzerland… a Beautiful country!!!

  6. Hahaha, believe me, I tried this topping on pizza in Hong Kong and already fell in love with it. Now, this ingredients are much more accessible in Basel and I really have them on my homemade pizza, glad tohear you like it as well and I am not alone as my hubby does not like arugula whatsoever, too strong for him but that’s just what I like : )

Leave a Reply

