Uncategorized

baked salmon with thyme for lazy days

Baked salmon with Thyme

I have been trying hard to eat light the last days, not an easy task for a food lover as there are so many things I want to try out. Not really doing in a strict manner, I proposed to my hubby to eat less carbo, and it seems to work quite well. Peter has just left for his business trip in Boston and I chose not to go with him because I would want to have some quiet time to limit myself from eating out and get ready for the summer. As the weather is much warmer than before, I do not crave for starchy food so much. In general, I find following diet menus or sticking  to a strict diet is a torture, so instead I am just trying to eat ‘smart’, and still be able to enjoy the food I like. I have also picked up swimming again, it seems it’s going in the right direction when I step on the scale, hope to keep this up!

Tonight, feeling rather lazy, I baked salmon with thyme from our garden, drizzled with some lime juice and served with some sweet corns, that is. So tasty, healthy and the beauty is no pans to wash!

I have adapted the recipe from about.com

Serves 2

Ingredients

  • 2 salmon fillets or other fish fillets you like (does not matter if skin is still there), about 250g per person
  • fresh garden thyme, soak in some salted water for a while and then rinse in tap water
  • extra virgin olive oil
  • fresh ground pepper & salt
  • lime or lemon wedges
  • 1 can sweet corn kernels, discard the liquid

Directions:

  • Preheat the oven at 120ºC
  • Wash the salmon and pat dry with kitchen paper
  • Line aluminum foil on a baking tray (big enough to wrap the salmon later), drizzle some extra virgin oil on the foil, place the salmon on the foil, add some ground pepper & salt on both sides and smear the olive oil on the fish fillets.
  • Put the stalks of fresh thyme under and on top of the fish
  • Add the sweet corn kernels next to the fish
  • Wrap up the foil and bake in the oven on the middle rack for 30 minutes thereabout.
  • Serve the fish and sweet corn kernels on warm serving plates, drizzle some lime or lemon juice.

Enjoy!

I like this a lot, the fish stays moist and will not be overcooked. Also since it is baked at relatively low oven temperature, I do not need to worry about my skin. Somehow, my skin condition seems to get worse when I cook to often with the oven, I do try to drink more water to compensate from being dehydated but still, maybe just me.

I have another Baked salmon recipe which you may like too:

9 thoughts on “baked salmon with thyme for lazy days

  1. lazy day dinners are sometimes the absolute best! hands down! mine tonite: tomato, basil and mozzarella with a drizzle of olive oil. heavenly!

Leave a Reply

