Uncategorized

fusion aglio e olio

 fusion aglio e olio

The other night initially I did not have any idea what to cook for myself, I did not feel hungry until it’s almost 9pm. I seemed to feel hungry only when it was gradually getting dark. When I looked into twitter, I saw Helen had made aglio e olio for dinner, I thought this was not a bad idea, quick to make and my other food blogger friend Ella @ From Stratch had just blogged this dish recently. However, the inside me wants to make something different, I was thinking that I have a small bottle of Masago which needs to be finished asap. I know there are Japanese pasta which uses fish roe but from what I can remember, they are using creamy sauce which I did not fancy tonight. So I had an idea to use the aglio e olio recipe as base and spin off to become a Japanese-Italian fusion version. The result was delizioso, oishi!!! I was very happy with my creativitiy tonight : )

Serves 1

  • 100g liguine
  • 30ml extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tbsp masago (capelin roe) or tobiko (flying fish roe)
  • 1.5 tbsp dried garlic flakes or 2 cloves fresh garlic, finely chopped
  • 2 frozen basil cubes or handful of fresh basil
  • 1/2 sheet sushi nori (seaweed), cut into thin slices
  • 1 tbsp fresh or dried parsley 
  • 1/2 small red chili cut into small pieces, discard seeds or 1 tsp dried chili flakes
  • fresh ground sea salt

 

Directions:

  • Cook the liguine as instructed from the pack to al dente and drain in a colander.
  • Heat the olive oil in a large pan at medium high heat, sauté the garlic and chili for a while, when the garlic turns slightly brown, add the drained liguine and basil into the pan and toss until they are mixed well. Sprinkle the parsley, mix well.
  • Transfer the pasta onto serving plate. Sprinkle some parmesan cheese, then add the masago or tobiko on top and followed by the nori.
  • Add a little freshly ground salt as seasoning and mix well.

Enjoy!

 

fusion aglio e olio 02

 

fusion aglio e olio 01

13 thoughts on “fusion aglio e olio

  1. luxurious with the roes around. coincidentally, I just posted Aglio e Olio too with very basic 3 ingredients. Your version definitely bring this classic dish to another level..

    adel’s last blog post..Aglio e Olio Penne

Leave a Reply

