Uncategorized

wild strawberries with cream

wild strawberries

Wild strawberry is also called Fraises des Bois, European Strawberry and Alpine Strawberry. It grows naturally in the North Hemisphere. The science name is Fragaria vesca.

The first time I came across these lovely wild strawberries was from a haute cuisine restaurant, these strawberries have a much stronger aroma and taste which once tried, you would never forget. Last week when I was chatting with my neighbour, she said she had lots in her garden that I could pick them whenever I want, they would keep growing and coming back in the coming months. I was so excited, the following day I took a few shots, picked some and enjoyed them at home. They grow so easily that I can transplant some from her garden to out garden. How nice !!!!!!!!

Ingredients:

  • Wild strawberries
  • Fresh Whipped cream
  • lemon juice
  • caster sugar

wild strawberries with cream

 

Method:

  1. Put some bowls in the freezer to make them frozen.
  2. Rinse and drain the wild strawberries.
  3. Put the wild strawberries into the frozen bowls, squeeze over some lemon juice and sprinkle some caster sugar on the strawberries.
  4. Scoop some whipped cream on top and serve immediately.

Enjoy!

13 thoughts on “wild strawberries with cream

  1. Oh, wow, wild strawberries! Yum! I love love love these! I haven’t had any in like 20 years. We used to vacation in a village in Ukraine that was near a forest then we would go and pick tons of wild strawberries every day. For a long time I had no idea how to translate these in English, they are called something totally different from strawberries in Russian.

  2. Hi Lisa, just planted them this evening, hope they will grow in our garden successfully. If it works, my neighbour said they will grow and spread quickly, their roots are much shallow compare to raspberry so if it’s spreading too much it’s very easy to pull out some of them.

  3. I could imagine how memorable your experience would be. It’s heavenly to be able to pick everyday. From the internet, I read that you can find it in the forest too in the US, maybe you can try one day?

  4. You beat me to it first. I took pics of it for you but haven’t got around to download it on my FB. 🙂 Victoire would go out in the garden to look for them and ate them just at it is. She loves it. She also ate a handful of raspberries from the garden just before we left for Paris to come to Singapore. 🙂
    .-= The Cooking Ninja´s last blog ..Black Forest Cake =-.

  5. The first time I tasted wild strawberries, by luck was in Suisse when my friends and I took a walk at their nearby forest @ Chamonix. Like you said the taste and aroma are totally different besides the roundish shape compared to the hybrids. The ones I got were dark red (blood red?) and also wild blueberries which managed to escape the baskets of the residences living around the forest.
    .-= pixen´s last blog ..Fresh Thai Pineapple & Cucumber Salad =-.

  6. Hi Pam, I was lucky to get them from my neighbour : ) and now even grow in our garden now. Have a nice trip in Singapore, too bad I am not going back to HK until mid-Sept. How long you are staying for?

  7. What a coincident, we are leaving for Chamonix tmr to go to Mont Blanc. I would love to try wild blueberries one day.

  8. This is my first time i visit here. I discovered so many interesting stuff in your blog particularly its discussion. From the tons of comments on your articles, I guess I’m not the only one having all the enjoyment here! maintain up the good function.

Leave a Reply

