Uncategorized

Tuscany part 2: cooking with Peter & Ann & baked zucchini & its blossoms recipe

Pescia taken from holiday house    

Following my Tuscany Part 1: I am afraid I am not writing in a chronological order. This was actually our last evening in Tuscany. Upon our arrival, I have written to Peter & Ann to see if they could offer me a cooking class but this is not something they officially or normally would offer. Peter was actually a chef when he was in Basel.  In fact what I was hoping was not a formal cooking class but a casual learn and dine together evening.

Pescia

After discussing, we had agreed to cook something that I can also repeat when I return to Switzerland.

Weather was rather hot already for early July, we ate outside and Peter told me because of the hot weather, they do not serve dishes immediately but at room temperature.

Peter preparing Baccala 

That evening we had:

Peter & Ann 

It was a very special evening to us, so glad that Peter and Ann shared so much their cooking tips to me. I am afraid I cannot reveal everything here in one single post. I will reveal the recipes when I cook them shortly in the future.

Happy Tuscan Meal 

Tonight, I have made Baked zucchini blossoms & zucchini. I am actually going to grow some zucchini myself in our vegetable garden, bought some seeds but have to wait until next year to plant them. Nevertheless, my neighbour is very generous and let me pick her zucchini flowers and zucchini. So I did today, picked in the afternoon kept them in some water so they can stay fresh. Once picked, the zucchini blossoms need to be used as soon as possible.

 Zucchini flowers freshly picked

So tonight with a bit of inspiration, I have a meatlessfree dinner, I have used a bit more olive oil than Peter but surprisingly it was completely fine and did not feel greasy at all, a good quality olive oil does pay off!!! I felt I have transformed a Tuscan dish to Spanish tapas, hahaha!

 Baked Zucchini Blossoms

Baked zucchini blossoms & zucchini

Ingredients:

  • 10 or more zucchini blossoms, freshly bought or picked from your own garden, keep in some water if not used immediately
  • 1 medium zucchini, sliced, about 0.5 cm thick
  • 1 cup  freshly grated Parmigiano Reggiano (Parmesan cheese)
  • 2 tbsp breadcrumbs (paniermehl)
  • 2 tbsp ground unblanched almond (blanced is fine too)
  • 2 tbsp dried parsley
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • best quality of extra olive oil

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven at 200ºC (400ºF)
  2. Trim the sides of zucchini blossoms and emove the pistils, wash and pat dry them gently.
  3. Drizzle olive oil onto 2 oven proved ceramic trays.
  4. Mix the grated Parmigiano, breadcrumbs, minced garlic and parsley together in a bowl.
  5. Spread the mixture thinly over the zucchini and flowers
  6. Drizzle a little extra virgin olive oil over them
  7. Bake them for about 10 minutes in the middle rack
  8. When the oil is sizzling and the crust is lightly browned they’re done.
  9. Remove from oven, rest for a few minutes before serve. Great with some fresh bread & some white wine.

Suggestions:

  • Serve this with bread for a light meal or as a side dish or one of your party dishes.
  • You can use less olive oil if you like. Despite I have used a little more olive oil than Peter, it did not feel greasy at all, I like both versions. The critical thing is to really use the best olive oil you can get.
  • Baking this way is a little like shallow frying and the beauty is effortless!!!!

DSC_0713

 

Thanks Peter & Ann for the lovely evening, hope to see you soon again!

For Tuscany Part 1 : Garfagnana & Tuscan risotto recipe, click here.

  

Unforgetable summer vacation in Northern Tuscany, Italy - Travel Guide - Ruba.com

Tour, tour reviews and travel guides for best hotels, restaurants, places to see - Ruba

30 thoughts on “Tuscany part 2: cooking with Peter & Ann & baked zucchini & its blossoms recipe

  1. It looks like you had a wonderful time in Tuscany! That recipe is very interesting! I’ve never had zucchini blossoms…

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  2. You know how much I love zucchini flowers and if I ever have a garden I will definitely grow them just for the flowers. I love the way you made them and whenever I get some more I will definitely try them.
    .-= Ivy´s last blog ..Fava =-.

  3. Hi Lisa and Ivy, wow just grow for the flowers !!! It’s funny both of you said the same thing.

    Zucchini plants take up a lot of space like Pumpkins. Pumpkin flowers look similar and you can also eat them like this. They are probably the best edible flowers ; ) I have just been able to pick some more before it starts raining. Will make for my friend coming over for dinner. I would have to try stuffing them one day too. Using Greek cheese is a great alternative to ricotta : )

  4. Hi Rosa and Juliana, if you see them in the farmers market, get hold of them. My neigbour says you may be lucky to find some in the supermarket occassionally.

  5. Great for Meatless Day : ) Zucchini Flowers alone were not enough, it’s good to eat with the zucchini itself too, would not feel boring as they taste different : )

  6. Your stuffed courgettes flowers look excellenty! It looks that you had a great time over there,.. The food looks yummie!!

  7. I am so jealous of your trip right now… great pictures, love the zucchini blossoms. I am going to try that this summer, I think my kids will like it!
    .-= Jenn@slim-shoppin´s last blog ..Jumbo Blueberry Muffins =-.

  8. Hi Jenn, so glad to hear you like the pictures. Yes, if you see them in your market, don’t hesisitate to buy them as they are so seasonal 🙂 Hope your kids you like them : ) It’s nice to serve as an appetizer.

  9. You had me salivating for those flowers! It’s one of my top in the list food I seek when I travelled. I grew them before (yep, just for the ‘fleurs’) but they turned out so small that only 1-2 teaspoons of stuffing seemed too much. Well, I grew them in large pots that stunned their growth definitely. Hmmm… maybe I should called the flowers as ‘bonsai zucchini flowers’ instead 😀

    I can’t wait to learn more tips & tricks from your trip!
    .-= pixen´s last blog ..Wanton Wrappers With Quail Eggs, Lotus Seeds and Gingkos Sweet Soup =-.

  10. This looks beautiful! I’ve never tried cooking zucchini blossoms, but you have now inspired me to do so! I hope that they will soon have them at my farmers’ market because I can’t get more than a few off of my one plant.

  11. Hi Katie, I hope you can get hold of them, I have been able to make a second time for my friend who came over for dinner, it was a very special appetizer, will surely impress everyone.

  12. The zucchini blossoms look spectacular! I spent a semester in Tuscany a few years ago. I am so jealous! I can’t wait to go back!
    .-= zoe´s last blog ..Fried Capers =-.

  13. The trip…and the dishes…sound fantastic. Oh how I wish Italy wasn’t so far away from the U.S. west coast; damned inconvenient!

    Thanks for letting me live vicariously. I wonder if our pumpkin blossoms will work just as well (with a side of baked zucchini)…you’ve inspired me to give it a try. I enjoy the blog and your tweets; keep it up!

  14. Hi Denise, your comment is very encouraging. I will keep it up and hope to have your continuous support! Do let me know how your pumpkin blossoms taste, pick them when they are not fully opened or riped, I think best picking them when the blossoms are not too big, the younger ones, the more tender : )

  15. Great shot of the zucchini blossoms Janet! I love their delicate taste but they cost CHF 2 per PIECE in the market. Must rob someone’s garden :p

  16. Hi Venny, CHF2 per piece, that’s a rip off, I have to check how much they charge in Tuscany, need to see if I can find that in my photos, for sure not as expensive.
    For 2 people you need at least 10 flowers! I have to tell my friend Gabi, I made her some last week.

Leave a Reply

