Uncategorized

chinese home cooking: Tomatoes & Scrambled Eggs (番茄炒蛋) & award

Chinese Home Cooking Tomatoes & Eggs 

After eating meat during the weekend, it’s not a bad idea at all to have a Meatless Monday. I found this food event in Twitter #meatlessmonday initially by Chris at Blog Well Done and thought it’s meaningful and easy to join.

Last week, I actually joined with my baked zucchini and its flowers but forgot to link back.

So today I made a simple Chinese / Cantonese dish which my mom made very often, the ingredients & seasoning are really simple, you will have these in the kitchen a lot of the time. When I made this the first time for my hubby, he is amazed how tomato and eggs can be cooked in this way and needless to say, tasty of course.

Frankly speaking, this may not be an exciting dish but it’s certainly a very healthy and easy to make. If your kids lose their appetite, try this. Most children like this, very appetizing with a bit of the sourness from the tomatoes.

So here is the recipe:

Serves 2

Ingredients:

  • 4 tomatoes
  • 3 eggs, whisked + 1 tbsp cold water
  • 2 slices ginger, then cut into thick stripes
  • cooking oil
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1 spring onion, finely chopped

Chinese Scrambled Egg

Directions:

  1. Boil some hot water in a saucepan, turn off the heat when water is boiling. Put the tomatoes into the water (the water level should just cover the tomatoes). Leave for a few minutes,remove the tomatoes from the water and peel the tomato skins.
  2. Cut the tomatoes into large pieces.
  3. Whisk and beat the eggs, add in a tbsp of cold water and season with a little salt, white pepper and sesame oil.
  4. In a wok or large pan, heat some cooking oil, when the pan is hot enough, pour in the whisked egg and quick stir fry it. You can break the eggs into smaller pieces and as soon as they solidify, immediately transfer the egg onto a dish and set aside.
  5. Wipe the pan with a kitchen towel, heat the pan hot again, add in a little oil and then the ginger, let them cook for 20 seconds and then add in the tomatoes, keep stirring for half a minute and then add in half cup of water and bring to boil. Season the tomatoes with some salt, 1 tbsp sugar, squash the tomatoes gently with the wooden spatula. Simmer at medium high heat until the tomatoes become thickened but still able to see the pieces of tomatoes.
  6. Add in the eggs from Step 4, quickly stir to mix well with the tomatoes.
  7. Serve immediately on a dish and sprinkle the spring onion on top as garnish. Or alternatively, you can also mix in the spring onion so to let them slightly cooked.
  8. Best served with steamed rice.

Enjoy!!!

Notes:

  1. Do NOT overcook the egg!!!!!
  2. Adjust the seasoning ( sugar, salt & water )according to your own taste as this depends on the types of  tomatoes you get.

And next, thanks to Anne from Annes Kitchen who has passed me this Premio Meme Award recently.

premio_meme_award

To pass on I have to write 7 random things about myself:

  1. I love eating and cooking but I am scared of putting on weight.
  2. I hate freezing cold weather, only skiing can get me active outside.
  3. I am a collector, I like buying things that I do not use them immediately, such as shoes,
    handbags, clothes. However, not all of them are a bad habit as for example, wine can
    increase its value tremendously over time. My vintage 2004 and 2005 futures have already
    doubled their price
  4. I am scared of insects: spiders, cockroaches, bees, etc. I was told I have to be friends with them if I learn gardening, this is a challenge for me to overcome all these.
  5. I love all kinds of hotpot: chinese, shabu shabu, fondue, chocolate foudue, hotpot noodle, hotpot
    rice
  6. I love all kinds of noodles including pasta.
  7. I always say Yes, but

And here I would like to pass on to :

Happy Cooking & Eating Out (CEO) !!!!! And of course more Happy Blogging !!!

13 thoughts on “chinese home cooking: Tomatoes & Scrambled Eggs (番茄炒蛋) & award

  1. Great one Janet! But do you know the trick to make the eggs turn out in folds rather than clumps? I ate a beautiful one (all folds, very soft and tender) in Beijing once.

  2. Hi Venny, I am not sure I understand what you mean by folds. Have you tried it at home? You have to describe to me in more detail when we next meet. I heard the Beijing one is not exactly the same as the Cantonese ones. You make me curious now.

  3. Hi Janet, it’s been a while since I drop by your blog. Wow, I love the new look, fresh and simple. The tag cloud is pretty cool too – been trying to put that on my site but didn’t work

    Thanks for the tag (an award, is it?) will follow up on my blog soon.

Leave a Reply

