Uncategorized

almost flourless sinfully rich chocolate cake

Almost flourless chocolate cake 01Last night at 9pm I baked an Almost Flourless Sinful Chocolate Cake. All of a sudden, I felt like making something with chocolate, I have restrainted myself from baking lately due to my detox mindset. However, last night my hands got “itchy” and with the Le Maison du Chocolat baking chocolate sitting idle at home for months, I decided to bake a sinful chocolate cake. Peter has been on the road a lot lately that I thought this will give him a nice treat. When I told him on the phone that I was baking a chocolate cake, I could feel he replied me with so much joy saying ” Lekker”!

I flicked through my old food magazines and found this chocolate cake which seems so easy to make. It came out to be really easy, however, I wondered if this recipe was really being tested because the size of the baking tin was too small and the 20 minutes baking time was really too short. Otherwise this is a wonderful recipe. What surprised me was that this cake contains so little flour and as a result after having a piece, I did not feel stuffed at all. Also the beauty of this cake is that it uses so little butter so I will consider this a low-carb and low-fat cake without sacrificing the richness of a chocolate cake should have and the ground almond inside the cake gives some nutty texture without compromising the smoothness of the cake itself. The cake has a crunchy crust on top and a little gooey inside, a little like the chocolate brownie.

Adapted from BBC Olive Food Magazine October 2008 advertisement between P.66 &67, Chocolate Cake by www.kenwoodworld.com/uk

Ingredients:

  • 4 eggs
  • 200g caster sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • 150g dark chocolate (70% cocoa & best quality chocolate you can get hold of)
  • 15g unsalted butter
  • 50ml water
  • 25g plain flour
  • 50g ground blanched almonds, also known as almond meal or almond flour
  • powdered sugar for dusting

Directions:

  • Preheat the oven to 180ºC
  • Grease and line an 23cm cake tin
  • Break the chocolate into pieces and put into a glass bowl together with the butter and water. Melt the chocolate in the hot water bath. That is place the glass bowl in a saucepan filled with hot simmering water. Keep the stove on at medium heat. Stir gently with a spoon when the chocolate is almost melted.
  • Meanwhile, in a large mixing bowl, mix the eggs, sugar and vanilla essence together with a mixer for about 3 mins until the mixture becomes very light and fluffy.
  • When the chocolate mixture is melted, remove from water bath and let it cool down for 10 mins.
  • Add the flour and ground almond into the egg sugar mixture, mix with a wooden spoon. Then gradually add in the melted chocolate and mix through.
  • Pour the cake mixture into the cake tin and bake for 30-40 mins.
  • To check if the cake is cooked enough, place a wooden stick in the middle of the cake, if it comes out easily almost clean, this is ready. It is ok if a little chocolate sticks to the stick, as the cake will still be cooking when it is cooling down.
  • When the cake is cooked, remove the tin from the oven and let it cool down on a cooling rack.
  • When serve, dust with powder sugar and serve with vanilla ice cream or whipped cream.

Almost flourless chocolate cake 02

Enjoy!

25 thoughts on “almost flourless sinfully rich chocolate cake

  1. Unfortunately, I can't see your pic… anyway, I'm sure this cake not only tastes sinfully good, but also looks really tempting!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  2. That looks like a wedge of pure chocolate-y bliss! Crunchy crust and gooey inside are exactly the descriptors that catch my attention and make me crave a slice. This is perfect as a simple yet rich dessert for dinner guests!

    (BTW, I tried clicking on the short URL in your tweet but got a "can't find server" response.)

  3. Hi Sophie, funny to hear you have the Kenwood mixer. I went to their website and do not find that recipe. I love this cake, so easy, will definitely make again and again.

  4. Thanks Lisa, it’s very dense and it stays moist and fresh for a few days. The ground almonds make it feel like those cakes from 5 stars bakeries!

  5. Amazing! This is way too simple to bake and the result was too good. Not overly rich but just enough to indulge for supper. Can’t taste the almond though…..thanks for the recipe!

  6. Hi May, glad you like the cake and it came out well. I think the almond helps binding and act a bit like flour. I like it not having the almond taste actually and you?

Leave a Reply

