Uncategorized

Lan Fong Yuen (蘭芳園), famous tea restaurant in Hong Kong

Lan Fong Yuen Central

Lan Fong Yuen, Main Shop in Central, the two little wooden stools are still kept until today. You can still sit there and order from there!

The last time I came back to Hong Kong (HK) was almost a year. This time I am lucky enough to stay  for more than 3 weeks. One of the things I missed most was the pantyhose milk tea (絲襪奶茶) from the HK style tea restaurants literally called Cha Chaan Teng (港式茶餐廳).  

Why not called cafe but tea restaurant, could it be because of the British influence?  “Would you like a cup of TEA?”

When I was on the plane, I read from the newspaper that one of the most famous tea restaurants, Lan Fong Yuen (LFY) which is founded since 1952 in Central, Hong Kong Island, also the creator of pantyhose milk tea has opened a new branch in Tsim Sha Tsui on the Kowloon side for just less than a month. I was very excited that I made a note immediately that I must check it out. I live in Kowloon side, so that’s a good news for me, more convenient and I can pay more visits before flying back. I read from the local food magazine Eat & Travel Weekly Issue 728 that LFY is so famous that even Zurich train station has hanged a big picture of it wth a ratio of 1:1 , it really makes me curious to go there and have a look if this is true.

I asked Peter where he would like to go for lunch today and I was so surprised that he requested me to take him to a local tea restaurant, I made sure if that was really what he wanted as he did not like the HK style milk tea but he said he could choose the things he likes. So without second thought, I said I had already a new hotspot for him.

Lan Fong Yuen Folding StoolThe new Kowloon branch locates in the basement of a low cost accommodations (guest houses), I was a little taken back when I read that the location is in the basement of Chung King Mansions (重慶大廈). I am not going to explain why here , ask a local Chinese, they should be able to explain. Anyway, this basement is renewed and now occupied by shops and restaurants.  LFY is located in the far end and before I arrived there, I was almost distracted by the Japanese Coffee Shop and the Udon restaurant. But I was able to stick to my original plan to visit LFY!

When we sat down, it felt like as if we have returned to the 50’s. Peter said this place is very local as all menus are in Chinese except there is one with pictures and English translation.

 

Special made Folding Chair with the name ‘LAN’

I have ordered Salty Lemon 7Up and ‘Yin Yuan’ foreigner rice for him and a milk tea and chicken fillet ‘Lo-Ting’ 撈丁 with ginger & scallion sauce for myself.

A little info about ‘Lo-Ting:’

Instant noodleYou may ask what is ‘Lo-Ting’ and why it is called ‘Lo-Ting’? Lo-Ting is another local creation, the same concept as Lo-Mein (撈麵). The difference is that instead of egg noodles which is commonly used, instant noodles are used. The instant noodles after boiled is drained and quickly tossed with a sauce in a wok/pan before the chicken and ginger scaillon sauce are placed on top. And the Nissan Brand, original flavor instant noodle (出前一) is always used due to its popularity and the best texture among all instant noodles. The name ‘Ting’ comes from the last or 4th character of brand name. Lo Ting had become a new trend in tea restaurants some years ago and there had been even local competition organized by a food magazine to compete among the local tea restaurants to pick the best and most creative Lo-Ting dish.

 Yin Yeung Foreigner Rice

‘Yin Yuan’ foreigner rice & panty hose milk tea. For the rice, the red sauce is like a bolognese sauce and the white is a creamy mushroom sauce, served with a fried egg in the middle.

Chicken Lo Ting

 Chicken fillet ‘Lo-Ting’ with ginger scaillon sauce

Salty Lemon 7-Up

Salty pickled lemon 7Up, you can even buy a bottle of the salty pickled lemon home and prepare the drink yourself!

  • Main shop: G/F, 2 Gage Street, Central, Hong Kong,  Tel: +825 2544 3895
  • Branch: G/F, 4A-6 Gage Street, Central, Hong Kong
  • Branch: Shop No.26, B/F, Chung King Mansion, 36-44 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Tel: +852 2316 2311

So until next time to enjoy “my cup of tea” and if you visit to Hong Kong one day, pay a visit to LFY and see if it will be also your cup of tea 🙂

13 thoughts on “Lan Fong Yuen (蘭芳園), famous tea restaurant in Hong Kong

  1. It was indeed very local and indeed what i wanted to have for lunch. I can highly recommend to try it out as well if you are in the neighbourhood

  2. Hi Helen, nice to have you stopping by. HK is still very hot. I am having a relaxing time here, trying not to shop too much : ) Like you I still have jet-lag. This post was written after 12am.I have made a list of things I want to eat during my stay but there are always new restos to try so every time I have to update accordingly and try the new rising stars.

  3. Food is ok but the waiter and waitress are damn one kind. They chased you to quickly finish your food. They cannot understand english and like to use rude remarks on the customers consuming foods.

Leave a Reply

