Uncategorized

cake n'cheesecake

cake n'cheesecake

Recently we went to a dinner party, I was so intrigued by this cheesecake made by my friend, Nesrin.  At first I thought that was New York Cheesecake but she told me that it is called Cake n’Cheesecake, never heard of it. It was just beautiful, when cut through you can see 3 distinct layers. It is so irresistible that I have to bake one myself without further delay. I like the cake base even more than the usual biscuit crust base.

Recipe

Bottom layer: Cake base batter

  • 140g (1 cup) plain white flour
  • 70g (1/2 cup) rye and spelt flour mix (you can use all plain water flour)
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 110g unsalted butter
  • 110g (approx 2/3 cup) fine brown sugar
  • 2 large egg (Nesrin’s version 1 large egg)*
  • 1 tbsp milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence

Middle layer: Cheesecake mixture

  • 225g cream cheese
  • 110g (approx 2/3 cup) sugar
  • 1/2 cup half-fat/ full fat sour cream or crème fraîche
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • 2 large eggs (Nesrin’s version: 3 large eggs)*

 
Top layer: Sour cream topping

  • 1 cup (240ml) full fat sour cream or crème fraîche
  • 2 tbsp icing or powdered sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence

 

Directions:

  1. At least 3 hours in advance, rest the butter, sour cream, cream cheese and eggs at room temperature. Do not prepare directly taken out from the fridge. You can prepare all ingredients, set aside and go to do something else.
  2. Preheat oven to 165ºC (325ºF).
  3. Grease a 23cm loose bottom springform cake pans with butter and dust with flour. I find this method is great then you do not need to use a knife to slide on the cake side after baked and can avoid unnecessary scratches on your cake pan.
  4. Prepare the middle layer: In one mixing bowl, blend the cream cheese and sugar together using a mixer at medium low speed, then add in the sour cream and vanilla essence, when well blended, add in the egg one at a time and set aside.
  5. Mix the flour, baking powder and salt in a bowl. Prepare the bottom layer better in a separate mixing bowl.  Using the mixer cream butter and sugar, add in the eggs,  then the milk and vanilla essence. Lastly sieve in the flour mixture and mix well. Use medium speed and do not over blend.
  6. Pour cake batter to the cake pan, spread to the bottom and sides and try to make the sides thinner.
  7. Pour the cheesecake mixture over cake batter to the centre. Shake gently the cake pan so the cheesecake mixture spread evenly.
  8. Bake for 50-60 minutes. Test the cake if it is done with a small wooden stick until it comes out clean or if you see the middle is not fluid anymore than it’s done.
  9. Prepare the sour cream topping by mixing the above ingredients.
  10. Remove the cake from the oven and let it cool down on a rack for 15 minutes and then spread the sour cream topping slowly to the centre.
  11. Return to the cake to the oven and bake for another 5 minutes.
  12. Cool on a rack and then refrigerate for at least 4 hours or overnight for better results.

Enjoy!

 

Notes:

  • If you use gas oven, the baking time will be shortened, I baked one in HK using my mom’s oven and it only requires 45 minutes baking time.
  • The top sour cream layer looks more yellow than white due to my pure vanilla essence.

* I have made this cake 3 times when I was in Hong Kong and in the end I found out Nesrin’s version of modifying the number of eggs for the middle and top  layers gives the best result. I have chosen to use brown sugar for the bottom layer which gives the cake even more distinct layers. Meanwhile I would like to use less flour for the bottom layer to see if I can make the sides thinner. Will update and revisit the recipe again next time.

Nesrin's version of Cake n'cheesecake 

Useful link:

16 thoughts on “cake n'cheesecake

  1. Very cool. I’ve never heard about this either. A friend of mine recently made a red velvet cake that had a layer of cheesecake baked in to the center. This reminds me of that cake.
    .-= Akila´s last blog ..wordless whitsundays =-.

  2. Hi lk, I do not miss the biscuit crust at all. I have made 3 times already in Hong Kong and all my family and friends like this cake. I have modified according to my friends experience and it’s really even better. With 1 egg for bottom layer and 3 eggs for the middle cheese layer.

  3. I ran into your website while surfing other blog’s sites, I fell in love with it!

    The presentation is clean and neat and brings the main focus to the delicious recipe’s photographs! I already bookmarked and will definitely be here often! =D

    I’m eager to try out this recipe; my favorite dessert is cheesecake and can’t wait to bake this one! I just have one simple question. What do you mean with “don’t overblend on step 5? Could you give me an idea of the texture I shoudl be looking for? I tend to either not blend enough or over do it. Just to be in the safe side.

    Thanks again for such a wonderful site to share international delicious food! Keep the good work!^_~

  4. Hi Grisel, thanks for your lovely comment that you like my blog a lot. Appreciate very much your feedback. As for your question regarding Step 5 of not over blending, as soon as you see the butter, egg and sugar mixture are well mixed to a creamy texture then you should stop further mixing. Hope this helps. Hope to see you again.

Leave a Reply

