Uncategorized

Cheap 'n' Chic eats in Hong Kong: Part I

Lanterns selling in HK

So during my stay in Hong Kong, what have I eaten there? I have eaten so much good food there that I have to organize them into several posts to share with you all.

I came up the idea of using the title: Cheap ‘n’ Chic eats because eating in Hong Kong does not always need to be expensive. Depending on your mood and time you have that day, you can always find something that can satisfy your desires.

For Part I, I have selected some of my long-lost food with you, most are quick eats except hotpot at the end of this post. Some pictures were taken in my last year trip, since having only one stomach, really no room to eat them all in just one trip : ) These food seem nothing special when they are easily accessible everyday but now being living abroad, looking at these pictures again make me feeling closer to my hometown and bringing all those good old memories back. Not only how good the food tasted but more importantly the experiences associated with them, who ate with me that day and the laughters we had. Oh dear, can’t deny I am getting old, as you get older, you tend to look back more!!!

Pineapple Bun with Butter

Pineapple Bun with unmelted butter (菠蘿油) , fromKam Fung Tea Restaurant (金鳳茶餐廳), Wanchai

IMG_0696

Hong Kong Style French Toast (西多士)

The HK style French toast is usually ordered during afternoon tea at the local tea restaurants. It is made by a thick slice of bread or sticking 2 slices of bread with peanut butter or jam or best with kaya (Malaysian coconut jam, 咖吔) dipped in beaten egg and then deep fry it. It is served with a piece of butter and golden syrup on top.

Corn beef Toast with Hot Yin Yang

Corn beef toast with Hot Yin Yan (熱鴛鴦), a Coffee Tea mix drink, from famous Mido Cafe (美都餐室) established in the 50’s, Yaumatei.

I was so surprised that unlike the old days which is mainly visited by older locals, that day it was filled with youngsters and tourists, mostly came here as a pilgrim visit since this place is always used for movie shooting.

Wonton noodle from Mak's Noodle

Wonton Noodle, from famous Mak’s noodle 麥奀雲吞麵世家, Central

Dried Shrimp roe Lo-Mein

Shrimp roe lo-mein (蝦子撈麵), from Mak’s noodle 麥奀雲吞麵世家

Minced beef congee and fried dough

Traditional style congee place in HK

HK Style minced beef congee (碎牛肉粥) and Savoury dough fritters (油炸鬼)

Roast Goose and Suckling Pig

Siu Mei (燒味): Roast Goose (燒鵝) and Suckling Pig (乳豬)

San Chow Glutinous Rice

Fried ‘San Chow’ Glutinous rice (生炒糯米飯), from Snake Wong Fun (蛇王芬飯店), Central

Snake Soup

Snake Soup, perfect during Autumn and Wintermonths, from Snake Wong Fun, Central, the most reliable place to have snake soup !!!

Marble Fatty Beef

Marble fatty beef (雪花肥牛) for Hotpot (火煱)

Hotpot Soupbase

Yin Yang Hotpot SoupbaseLeft: Coriander and 1000 year eggs (Scared?, it is very good to counteract the spicy and fried food you eat); Right: Satay soupbase

My friends in Hong Kong, they all know I am a big fan of hotpot!!! In HK, there are many soupbase you can choose from, the above one is just the most common one we have. 

Stay tune for more yummy food in my upcoming posts !!!!! 

 

14 thoughts on “Cheap 'n' Chic eats in Hong Kong: Part I

Leave a Reply

