Uncategorized

Mango pomelo sago dessert (楊枝甘露)

Mango sago pomelo dessert

I have fallen in love with these two tropical fruits: mango and pomelo recently, if you have seen my earlier posts, you would now what I mean. I have made a mango & black n’ white glutinous rice dessert and a Thai Pomelo salad, both were well received at home. So what else can I make? It will be the famous dessert in Hong Kong: Mango Pomelo Sago Dessert (楊枝甘露) 100% created by Hong Kong people in 1984 by Lei Garden Restaurant, I do not dare to claim every one but almost every one would love this dessert. It is healthy, made mostlywith fruit and no cooking is required. I have always thought that this is very difficult to made but it is unbelievably easy to prepare for a divine dessert like this. The most challenging part I find is to get hold of the mango and pomelo especially when you do not live in Asia. 

I got so excited when I see them in Basel, jumping like a kid. Pomelo cost about USD 3 here which I think is very reasonable but Thai mango is a few times more expensive than in Hong Kong but since I can only make this dessert occasionally, it does not matter so much anymore. Peter loves this heavenly dessert, he asked if I could make this more often. He said my homemade version is far better then those outside, I know why this is because some times they are rather diluted and articifical, contain very little pomelo and mango.

Another beauty is that you can prepare everything in advance during the day and assemble the dessert just before serving.

IMG_6085

Serves 6

Ingredients:

  • 3 Thai Yellow Mango (choose the larger ones if you can)
  • 1 cup (120ml) coconut milk (or you can use evaporated milk as subsitute)
  • 3/4 cup (80ml) cold water
  • 1/2 Thai pomelo or 1 Israel Pink pomelo which is smaller than the Thai ones0
  • 1/2 cup sago
  • 2 -3 tbsp confectioner’s sugar (optional)

Directions:

  1. Unpeel the pomelo and put the pomelo pearls in a big bowl, cover with cling film and keep in the fridge. You can prepare up to 2 days in advance.
  2. Peel the mangoes and cut into cubes. Reserve 1/4 of it in a bowl and keep in the fridge.
  3. Using a blender/ food processor, place about 3/4 of the mangoes. cold water and the coconut milk into the it and whiz to mango puree. Sample the taste to see if necessary to add any sugar. This is not necessary if your mangoes are sweet and ripe enough. Keep the puree in the fridge too.
  4. Boil some water in a saucepan and add the sago. Cook at medium high heat for about 15 mins. Turn off the heat and put the cover on. Let the sago simmer in the pan until they become transparent. Drain the sago in a sieve and rinse in cold water. Transfer sago to a bowl and set aside.
  5. To assemble, place 2-3 tbsp pomelo pearls in each serving dessert bowl, add 1 tbsp sago and then pour in the mango puree to three quarters full. Stir to mix.
  6. Garnish by sprinkle some pomelo to the middle of the bowl and add some mango cubes which you have reserved earlier.
  7. Serve immediately when chilled and go for second!!!

Enjoy!

Mango sago pomelo dessert 03

31 thoughts on “Mango pomelo sago dessert (楊枝甘露)

  1. my absolute favorite dessert…while living in HK, would make a trek out to Happy Valley to eat it at this tiny little dessert shop. I can still taste the tingle of pomelo breaking up on my tongue. Thanks for posting – now to find some thai mangos…

  2. yum, yum. my favorite dessert… in fact, i was thinking about it earlier today during class. haha.

    i remember mom telling me that this was the dessert with the most sugar on the entire menu. however, the good thing about homemade goodies, you can control what goes into your food! 😀

    😦 too bad there are no mangoes around this time. not in season. i will wait for summer time.^^

  3. You are right, but most of time I don’t even need sugar. And if you use, confectioner’s sugar (powder sugar) easier to melt. I always crave for this and that too : )

  4. Hi Ron. Yes I go to Manji too but only when they were first in Sai Hung, now they have more branches. On the other hand, Fat Kee is my favorite, I love black pearls instead of sago. Unfortunately I do not know how I can buy black pearls. As for sago, I can buy them from Asian groceries store here.

  5. Good question Sophie, I looked into wiki and found this:

    Pearl sago, a commercial product, closely resembles pearl tapioca. Both typically are small (about 2 mm diameter) dry, opaque balls. Both may be white (if very pure) or colored naturally grey, brown or black, or artificially pink, yellow, green, etc. When soaked and cooked, both become much larger, translucent, soft and spongy. Both are widely used in South Asian cuisine, in a variety of dishes, and around the world, usually in puddings.

  6. You got me, Janet.
    I love Mango Pomelo Sago Dessert (楊枝甘露) very much, a refreshing dessert in summers. Last time I traveled back to HK. I deliberately went to a dessert restaurant in Mongkok to taste this wonderful dessert. I believe the homemade one is the best as we can add lots of pomelo and mango as we wish.
    Mangoes are in season here right now. They are big and sweet. But it’s quite hard to find pomelo. If I come across any, I’ll definitely make this dessert. Keep my fingers crossed.

  7. Hi Christine, you are so right, homemade version is the best, low or no added sugar. We pay $20 sth to $30 sth for a portion with not so much pomelo and mango. You can imagine the profit margin is very big. I will definitely keep my fingers crossed for you : ) It’s funny for me that I can buy pomelo and kaki in normal supermarkets here : )

  8. First had this dessert in Hong Kong and fell in love with it. Made it a couple weeks ago and it was so simple yet so delicious!! I used grapefruit with the yellow flesh instead as the pink flesh ones weren’t in season, so it didn’t look as pretty but still tasted great. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!!

  9. Hi Kymiko, thank you for leaving a comment that you have tried the recipe and like it a lot. This dessert is really so tasty and also very healthy.

  10. I love your website, Janet.
    So beautiful and diverse.
    I get so excited seeing all the beautiful pictures, and you make me feel it is so doable.
    I have tried making this Mango Sago before, but not with coconut milk. Going to try your version tonight.
    Thank you, and am proud of you!

  11. Hi Gloria, thank you so much for visiting my blog. Being a HKer, I think we have a diverse palette because we are so fortunate to have all kinds of cuisines in HK and because of this, it makes my blog diverse. Not sure if it is a good thing as some ppl think my cookbook is bits of every thing and not focused in one particular type of cuisine but this is also the real me.

Leave a Reply

