Uncategorized

linguine with tartufata (truffle sauce)

This winter has brought a lot of snow across Europe. Honestly I am not that excited about the snowy condition, it brings a lot of inconvenience to our daily life. Having said that I like the snow up on the mountains at the ski regions. What a dilemma, haha!

I have not been productive in blogging recently due to visiting family and friends, wanted to put down my computer for a while and dedicated more time to them. Also have a new personal project which will be a new lifetime experience and challenge for me so therefore I have spent more time to that lately.

Anyway, owing to the snowny condition, I would stock up more foodstuffs in one go so I can minimize the need of driving in snowy/ icy road conditions.

Today I made a quick pasta with truffle sauce for lunch, it’s really great as a quick fix gourmet meal. I am particularly fond of spaghetti or linguine lately. Normally I would make pasta with a lot of ingredients to make it a scrumptious meal but recently I like to go more the more simplistic ones. In the past I would not like to simply toss the pasta in a simple tomato or pesto sauce but my taste seems to have changed. Less is more, I feel the simpler the sauce it is, I can taste the spaghetti better and appreciate the texture of the al dente. I mean I can eat the chinese noodles simply with oyster or XO sauce and feel very satisfied with them so why not the same rationale for Italian pasta.

I actually hesistated if I should go ahead to make this pasta dish as I did not have any mushrooms at home but I wondered how it would taste and it came out very satisfying. Peter said many times delicious so the tartufata seemed to do the magic!

Ready in less than 15 mins!!!

Ingredients:

  • 160-200g linguine or spaghetti
  • 2 tbsp tartufata
  • 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 tbsp quark or cream
  • dried or fresh parsley, finely chopped
  • salt
  • fresh ground pepper
  • freshly grated Parmesan Reggiano or Grana Padano

Directions:

  1. Cook the pasta in a large pot of salted boiling water as instructed from the pack to al dente.
  2. When the pasta is cooked, drain the water and keep about 2 tbsp behind in the pan.
  3. Keep the stove at low heat. Drizzle the olive oil onto the pasta, add in the quark or cream and the tartufata, season with salt and ground pepper. Toss quickly.
  4. Serve on warm plates. Sprinkle some parmesan cheese and parsley on top.

Enjoy!

Notes:

  • For unfinished tartufata, I topped up some olive oil in the jar in order to keep the tartafuta for longer after opened.
  • Other than using it in pasta, you can add this to your pizza, this is my favorite and it’s heavenly.
  • Get a good quality jar of tartufata if you can, as I have once experienced one jar that the truffle did not taste fragrant or strong enough and ended up I need to use more in amount to compensate the expected taste by still not close to what I have expected. If you have a good one, you do not need to use that much in your dish.
16 thoughts on “linguine with tartufata (truffle sauce)

  1. Hola dear and Happy New Year to you too! We are getting tones of snow here too :D, I love snow but I agree that it can be annoying when routine has to fight against it.

    A fantastic pasta dish :D… I wouldn’t mind to seat in front of you and have a plate of it… with or without snow ;D

    You can now subscribe to my email feed if you wish. Thanks for mentioning it to me.
    .-= Núria´s last blog ..Avocado Sandwich – Bocata de Aguacate [Flickr] =-.

  2. No, they will not get in the way at all but rather complementing each other and would not overpowder or dominate the truffle sauce.

Leave a Reply

