Uncategorized

Singapore Fried Rice Noodle (星洲炒米)

I have been craving for Singapore Fried Rice Noodle for some time but I did not know which curry powder I should use as I read that I should use Malaysian Meat Curry Powder which is not accessible for me. The recipe I have at home says wet curry paste which I cannot find here as well. Later I found out that I can use Madras Curry Powder from House of Annie which I have it at home all the time, so I finally got round to make it tonight and the results was satisfactory. You can eat this alone or go with a bowl Chinese plain rice porridge which is my family’s favorite match: noodles and porridge.

Serves 3-4

Ingredients:

  • approx 250g dried rice noodle (vermicilli) (Recommended Brand: Kong Moon Rice Stick, 江門排粉)
  • 1 medium onion, sliced into thin strips
  • 200g bean sprouts, rinse, drain and remove roots,
  • 1 egg, beaten with a pinch of salt
  • 150g chinese chives, cut into length of about 4cm
  • 6 prawns, shell removed, deveined and halves (cut through diagonally)
  • 200g chicken breast fillet or Char Siu Chinese Roast Pork, cut into strips
  • 150g Chinese fried fish cake, cut into strips
  • 1 red chili, cut into pieces

Seasonings for noodles:

  • 3 tsp Hot Madras curry powder
  • 1/2 tsp chili powder (optional)
  • 1 tbsp chicken bouillon powder
  • light soy sauce
  • 2 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp sesame oil
  • 1/2 cup water

Other seasonings required:

  • white pepper
  • corn starch
  • vegetable oil
  • salt

Directions:

  1. Soak the dried rice noodle in a big bowl of hot water for 3-5 mins (mix half boiling and half cold water). Drain in a colander and set aside.
  2. Add a little fine salt and corn starch to the prawns, mix in a small bowl and set aside.
  3. Prepare the onion, chinese chives, Chinese fried fish cakes, bean sprouts as described above.
  4. In a wok, fried the beaten egg quickly, cut into thin strips and set aside.
  5. Marinade the chicken with a bit of white pepper, salt and oil in a bowl and set aside.
  6. When step 1-5 are done, heat up the wok with high heat, add 3 tbsp cooking oil into it. Add in the onion and bean sprouts and stir fry. When they are halfway cooked, add in the chicken and keep stir frying, when the chicken is almost cooked, add in the Chinese Fried fish cakes, prawns and rice noodles. Keep stir frying.
  7. In the meantime, mix the seasonings for the noodles in a bowl and then add into the noodles, add in the chinese chives and red chilies. Stir fry until the noodles are softened and well mixed. Taste if need to add more soy sauce or sugar, etc. You may need to add a little more water if the noodles fill a bit dry.
  8. When the rice noodles is done, sprinkle the fried egg pieces, stir to mix.
  9. Serve immediately when hot.

Enjoy!

Notes:

  • Do not soak the rice noodles for more than 5 minutes, if they are soaked too long, they will become too soft and they will break into small pieces when frying. If soak too short, they will be too hard to fry.
22 thoughts on “Singapore Fried Rice Noodle (星洲炒米)

  1. You are right, I don’t think I heard about this dish much when I was in Singapore. Same as Yeung Chow Fried Rice which is not created in Yeung Chow : )

  2. Hi Gattina, you are right, fried noodles from restos are also too oily. Wish you were living nearby so I could share some noodles with you as I cooked to much and just gave a dish to my neighbour to try out. Hope the winter will pass soon!!!

  3. Hi Su-Lin, I think as long as the food tastes food, it does not matter anymore. When I was in HK, this was not my most favorite noodle dish but somehow living abroad different dishes will crop into my head that I would miss them and would like to recall the taste.

  4. Gosh!!

    I’ll definitely try this, I’m not good in making this one but I am planning to give it a try again. My gf will surely love this. I love your site and I’ll be here often, keep it up!!

    Btw, happy valentine day to you!!

  5. omg – i’m salivating. we’ve been wanting to make this for a long time… reminds me of the summer b/c they only have it on the menu at our local chinese down at the beach. ahhhhh.

Leave a Reply

