Uncategorized

my way of Birchermüesli

 

I know how popular Birchermüesli is in Switzerland but it never looks appealing to me, I see them serving in the hotel breakfasts all the time but I never dare to try. The reason is mainly because I did not like its soggy appearance.

Then all of a sudden, yesterday when I looked into my kitchen and saw the rolled oats that had not been consumed for some time, I was wondering how else I could eat that for breakfast apart from just plainly boil it with water. Although a bit tasteless, my mom eats this every day for breakfast with 2 tbsp of ground flaxseeds add to it to stay fit. The roll oats need longer cooking time than the quick cooking oatmeal so most of the time I do not have patience to cook this myself and therefore explains why the roll oats are untouched for some time and I have not been baking much recently. Impulsively, I went to search around of how Birchermüesli is prepared. There are different ways of preparing but I do not like to use condensed milk as in the original recipe of Bircher-Benner  and I do not like some recipes using too much juices so I have adapted to my own taste. I am very happy with the results and with the fabulous kitchen gadgnet-Bamix Swissline that my hubby got me recently, I am now even more motivated to prepare food that requires grating, slicing, processing or grinding. It really saves me a lot of time from standing in the kitchen.

In advanced prepare the ground nuts and seeds, this can be kept in an airtight glass jar for use of multiple times: 

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 2 tbsp sesame seeds
  • 2 tbsp flaxseeds
  • 1.5 cup of unsalted mixed nuts (walnuts, hazelnuts, almonds, brazil nuts or just pick the nut(nuts) you like)

Makes 2 bowls

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 2 tbsp raisins
  • 1 cup semi-skimmed milk
  • 1 tbsp sunflower seeds
  • 1/2 tbsp flaxseeds, unground
  • 1 tbsp wheatgerm
  • 1 apple finely grated (choose the apple that is more sour and crunchy)
  • fresh 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 3 tbsp of the ground nuts and seeds as described above
  • pinch of cinnamon (optional)
  • 5 tbsp low fat (bifidus) natural yogurt
  • 1 banana, thinly sliced
  • 2 halves canned peaches
  • 1 tbsp honey or brown sugar
  • fresh or dried berries as desired or depending on what is accessible (apricots, kiwis, raspberries, strawberries, blueberries, dried apricots, etc)
  • Do feel free to use any fresh fruits you like, cut into slices or cubes

Directions:

  1. Soak the rolled oats and raisins in the milk, cover and let it stand for at least several hours or best overnight in the fridge.
  2. The next morning, peel and grate the apple and mix with the lemon juice to prevent the apples from oxidized and turn brown.
  3. Transfer the soaked rolled oats and raisins into a larger bowl, add in the grated apples and the natural yogurt, honey and mix well. Add a bit of milk if necessary.
  4. Then also sprinkle in the sunflower seeds, flaxseeds, wheatgerm and the ground nuts and seeds and mix well again.
  5. You can let this stand for a few minutes and in the meantime, you can sliced the bananas and peaches or other fruits you desired.
  6. Divide the museli in portions in bowls and lay the fresh and dried fruits on top and serve immediately.

Enjoy !!!

Notes:

  • Adjust the consistency you desire by adding a bit more milk or yogurt where necessary. I personally do not like it too wet.
  • You can add some corn flakes just before serving to add more crunchy taste (optional).
  • I later found out Jamie Oliver has also got his way of Birchermüesli, so afterall it’s all about adaptation to fit to your own taste.
  • Some recipes say you have to soak the apple and nuts overnight but I prefer to have as much as possible freshly prepared in the morning and also I do not like the idea of soaking the apple for too long, I prefer to have more crunchiness texture.
14 thoughts on “my way of Birchermüesli

  1. That’s a good option too, I only soak mine with enough milk to cover the oats and raisin, so the next morning, all liquid is all absorbed.

  2. I can’t believe I become to like this museli, making it from scratch makes the difference. I am now having it 4th day in a row.

Leave a Reply

