Uncategorized

Chinese Coconut Milk Red Bean Pudding (椰汁紅豆糕)

Got a pack of dried red bean at home for a long time and wonder what should I do with them. Most of you would have heard of the popular Chinese dessert Red Bean Soup but this is not my favorite really. When you attend a Chinese wedding banquet, it’s very common that they serve red bean soup at the end which when I was a kid, I was already tired of it, especially when it’s served hot. Alternative ways to serve red bean soup is to served cold and add some evaporated milk to it.

Anyway, I did not make red bean soup this time but instead all of a sudden, I remembered a chilled pudding which you can find easily in Dim Sum restaurants in Hong Kong: Coconut milk Red Bean Pudding (椰汁紅豆糕). I have not had this Chinese dessert for a long time, it was so good and can keep for a few days in the fridge.

Ingredients:

  • 60g dried red beans
  • 500ml water (this is used for cooking the agar agar)
  • 300ml coconut milk
  • 65g evaporated milk
  • 100g white sugar
  • 50g cornstarch
  • 6g agar-agar or 10g gelatine
  • pinches of salt

Directions:

  1. Rinse to wash the red beans, soak the red bean with water overnight.
  2. The following day boil the red beans in water in a pan at medium high heat for 15 mins, then turn off the heat and cover with the lid and leave it for another 20 mins. In this way, the red beans will continue to cook without getting too soft.
  3. Drain the red bean onto a bowl with a sieve to discard the water and set aside.
  4. In a separate bowl, mix the coconut milk, evaporated milk and cornstarch together, stir until there is no lumps of cornstarch.
  5. Boil the 500ml water in a large saucepan, add in the agar-agar and keep stirring with a wooden spatula until all agar-agar is completely melted. Then pour in the coconut milk and evaporated milk mixture from Step 4, add in the sugar, stir to ensure the sugar is all melted. Bring the mixture to boil and keep stirring in the meantime to avoid burning and sticking at the bottom of the pan, turn to low heat and let it simmer until the liquid mixture  thickens.
  6. Add in the red beans and pinches of salt, stir to mix.
  7. Then turn off the heat and pour the mixture to a nonstick square mould or a plastic box. Leave at room temperature to cool down completely, then chill in the fridge for a few hours until it is set.
  8. When the coconut red bean pudding is set, you can transfer the pudding to a plate, cut into desired shapes,  pieces and serve.

Enjoy!

Note:

If you cannot find agar-agar, you can use gelatine. I tried once and the texture is less jelly like as compared to using agar-agar.

Below is a videoclip I found and have adapted from but it’s only in Cantonese but you can see the illustration:

23 thoughts on “Chinese Coconut Milk Red Bean Pudding (椰汁紅豆糕)

  1. I made some kind of “pudding” before with coconut milk. This pudding of yours reminds me of red bean ice-cream on a stick (potong)…:D

  2. Janet you dessert looks so beautiful. I’ve never heard of a dessert using beans before but I would really like to try it. Can any kind of red beans be used or is there a special kind used?
    .-= Ivy´s last blog ..In Memory of Rosie =-.

  3. That pudding looks very good Janet! I tried a bean dessert in a Chinese restaurant we went to for my birthday in April (it was a fried dessert with beans inside) but I would much rather have this … it looks delicious!
    .-= Maria´s last blog ..Cherry Tahini Crumble =-.

  4. I came across a bag of 8 wonder red bean dessert beans.. the recipe says to use 4 liters of boiling water , add package and simmer for one hour. then add sugar or coconut milk and serve hot or cold..

    my question is if you had see this and used it.. the listing of stuff is as follows.. azuki benas , lily , tapico..don’t know what makes it 8!!

    can i use this package in your recipe. I would think there are different cooking times for the tapico and the beans
    thanks.. can you email me too

  5. hi, so using gelatin would be less jello-y compared to using agar agar?
    i though gelatin would be more jello-y.

  6. Hi sheri, Agar agar is better for this recipe actually, also jello-y but different texture not bouncy like gelatin if I can describe it the best I can. I used gelatin because I could not find agar agar at that time but later I found in the asian grocery store here.

  7. Normally the chinese will prepare the pudding in a big box or tray. I used the round mold for nicer presentation. this portion should serve 6-8 persons.

Leave a Reply

