Chinese Cuisine

Shanghainese rice roll (上海秶飯)

After Marc is born, life has changed dramatically. Breastfeeding every other two to three hours has taken almost all my time. I have not been able to cook much in the last weeks because I need to recover myself and the full dedication of my time and energy to Marc.

Anyway, my aunt has visited and got some crushed dried pork with her and I came up the idea of using some of it to make this Shanghainese rice roll. I have been craving it for some time but never been able to make it as the key ingredient crushed dried pork and the fried dough are not always easy to get hold of. Now I got every thing and got the tips from her of how to make this. This rice roll is one of the street food which I used to have occasionally for breakfast together with a bowl of warm soy milk.

Ingredients:

  • 2.5 cup glutinous rice
  • 1 chinese fried dough stick (油炸鬼)
  • 1 cup of pickled mustard green (炸菜)
  • 2 cups crushed dried pork (豬肉鬆)

Special Utensils required:

  • Bamboo or sushi rolling mat
  • Cling film
  • a plastic rice spatula
  • Bamboo dim sum steamer

Directions:

  1. Place the glutinous rice in a large bowl and cover the glutinous rice with water and soak the glutinous rice overnight or at least for 8 hours. Using a sieve to drain away the water
  2. Steam the rice by lying a thin cotton cloth flat on a bamboo steamer, steam for about 20 mins at high heat or until the rice looks transparent. Cover to keep warm.
  3. In the meantime, soak the pickled mustard green with water for an hour to remove most of the saltiness, then discard the water and dry on kitchen paper to absorb excess water. Set aside.
  4. Put the crushed dried pork in a bowl.
  5. As for the dried dough, either buy them fresh from a congee eatery place or for my case, I found some frozen ones which are very good too. Reheat the fried dough in the oven as instructed so to get them crispy again.
  6. Use a little cooking oil to stir fry the pickled mustard green, then add a little sugar to enhance the flavor.
  7. To assemble the rice roll, line the bamboo mat with cling film, using the warm/hot glutinous rice spatula and with the help of your hand, spread a layer of rice on the cling film, then add some pickled mustard green in the middle, follow by some crushed dried pork and finally half of the fried rice dough. Roll like a sushi roll and press the bamboo mat to make the roll stick into a piece without falling apart.
  8. You will result a rice roll wrapped with cling film, cut into half and serve immediately when it is still warm.
  9. Suggestion: best to serve with hot and freshly made soy milk.
14 thoughts on “Shanghainese rice roll (上海秶飯)

  1. I love this glutinous rice roll…I usually by at the local restaurant/grocery, but haven’t had it for a while…yours look so yummie…love it with lot of dry pork 🙂
    By the way, good to see your post!

  2. Thanks Sophie. I have written an SMS to you last time when I was in Brussels. Maybe u had changed to your new number already. Not sure if i can travel to Brussels again after I have little Marc with me.

Leave a Reply

