Uncategorized

Sesame oil Chicken (麻油雞), my whereabout & giveaway

It has been a long silence of my blog. Recently I had spent five weeks in Hong Kong with Baby Marc visiting family and friends.  It was a good time to be in HK as I had not spent Chinese New Year in HK for a long time and this was Marc first time of course.

This trip I felt HK has changed a lot, more skyscrapers needless to say. The biggest concern is that the cost of living keeps on rising. The inflation is seriously bad! Nothing is cheap in Hong Kong from housing, food, transportation, etc. If you interested, here is an article for you dated 24 Feb 2011, just a few days after I left. It was an every day topic when I was there. I really hope the Government can conduct some realistic measures in the property market in no time.

Other time after coming back, I have to adapt to a new routine, as I have to prepare solids for Marc everyday, so far he is doing good (touch wood!!!), hope he will continue like that. By the time, he is asleep by 9pm if we are lucky, then I would have some time for myself but am pretty tired and no motivation to stand in front of the laptop anymore. I am questioning myself where should I go from here, totally stop blogging or just post whenever I can. At the moment, I do not want to give up what I have established so far, should not give up so easily.

Anyway, good news is that my cookbook is officially accepted by Bider & Tanner, another local bookstore in Basel. They have immediately stocked up some copies for their English Cookbook section, I am so thrilled! The previous bookstore sadly has closed down its business in February and I am glad I could find another one.

I am going to give away three copies for free, to enter you simply leave a comment to this post by 31 March, 2010, if you subscribe via email or follow me on my facebook page, you will get a bonus entry. Please let me know if you have done so in your comment.  I will announce the lucky winners thereafter in early April.

If you are interested to buy a copy, it will cost USD 18 per copy including postage fee. USD 5 will be donated to Red Cross per copy sold.

Lastly before I go on to introduce a Chinese recipe, I would like to thank you so much for my fellow food blogger friends for spreading the words for me: Natasha @fivestarfoodieRosa@ Rosa’s Yummy Yums; Wiffy @Noobcook and Myrto@Foodsnaps and Christine @Christine’s Recipe. Really appreciate all your time and support!!!

The following Chinese recipe is a very simple one with simple ingredients that is accessible to everyone. I had this dish several times after delivery, I was told that this is very good for women after giving birth. Chicken and ginger are two of the most cooking ingredients in post-delivery care in the Chinese culture. And sesame is said to be very good in helping the uterus to go back to normal. I find this dish is so delicious that the family can enjoy together as the ginger will not burn your tongue after cooking and you can eat all the ginger. I would consider to prepare this dish from time to time even not giving birth and would very much to share with you because it is really easy to make and you will be amazed how tasty it is.

 

Ingredients:

  • 1 Whole fresh free-range chicken, cut into bite size pieces with bones, keep the skin
  • good quality sesame oil (Choose either Chinese, Taiwanese, Korean or Japanese ones)
  • Chinese Cooking oil
  • pinches of sea-salt
  • white pepper
  • 1 cup of thin slices ginger

Directions:

  1. Cut the whole chicken into bite size pieces. Try to get the best chicken that you can get!!! It really make a difference!
  2. Marinate the chicken in a mixing bowl with salt, pepper and sesame oil for at least 30 mins.
  3. Heat a generous amount of sesame oil in a wok, add in the ginger and stir-fried until golden yellow. Then add the chicken pieces and keep stirring until the chicken is cooked, add more sesame oil if it is getting too dry.

Enjoy and thank you in advance for your support!

30 thoughts on “Sesame oil Chicken (麻油雞), my whereabout & giveaway

  1. I lived in China for a few months, have a Taiwanese partner who’s still living in London (where *I* usually live too) but have been working in Basel for a few months now. I follow you on Facebook (cool, two chances to win!) and until now haven’t even been in Bider & Tanner.

    Keep up the good work! You make me hungry 😉

  2. Well, the cost of living everywhere is rising but it depends if the salary rises or not. For example, in Malaysia, the cost of living shoots up but the salary increment creeps like a snail, causing people to be living in a middle income trap.

    Speaking of housing in Hong Kong, I’m sure you have heard of the famous Icon incident!

  3. Yep! In Basel. I’m a Londoner with a fetish for Asian food. I’m definitely in the wrong place but I’m hoping I’ll start cooking more to make up for the relative lack of restaurant/cafe options in Basel. After living in China for a few months and never cooking once, I need the practice 😉 Your cooking book will come in handy!

    And yes, coffee would be great!

  4. Janet, great to see you back online and congrats on your book accepted at Bider & Tanner! I really enjoyed making some of your recipes and my family loved the dishes! Thanks so much! This sesame oil chicken looks superb!

  5. Your sesame oil chicken looks fantastic! I’ll have to try it this weekend. I like your site ~ I just subscribed via email.

  6. Hi Janet, I found your blog through Natasha of 5 Star Foodie….really like this dish and ate a lot of it during my confinement. Lovely blog and your cookbook looks really nice!

  7. I agree with you, a free range chicken will make a much better tasting dish.

    Great to see you back online. (btw, could you update your CommentLuv plugin?)

    PS I’ve subscribed by RSS and Facebook.

  8. Hello

    So happy to discover your blog and cookbook through Natasha; I am on a big kick to learn more about Asian cuisine as I believe the Asian cuisine and Middle-Eastern cuisine can be compatible. Great recipe today.

  9. Good to see you back, Janet and happy to hear that you found another bookstore. Wish I can have some of your sesame oil chicken with warm rice now.

  10. i found your blog through Natasha’s at 5 Star Foodie. congratulations on your cookbook! what exciting new for you. i’m loving how simple the seasame chicken is. i’ve got all the ingredients and would love to give this a try some time. thank you for sharing and for the giveaway win opportunity.

  11. It must have been a lot of fun to celebrate CNY with your son for the first time. Hope you’ll keep blogging when you can! This chicken dish sounds so good with the flavors of sesame and ginger.

  12. I saw you on Five Star Foodie’s blog and have to say, everything she made from your book is to-die-for!! Beautiful! All of the food in your book seems to be right up my alley 🙂

  13. So glad to have found you through Natasha. Your new book sounds fantastic (Natasha did a really nice job photographing some of your dishes!). I just “liked” you on FB and look forward to following you on twitter as well.

  14. I found this through Natasha and recipes looked really yummy. Thanks for a chance to win one! Carol M in TX/carolswingster77@aol.com

  15. congrats with your cookbook…I hope I can get one, I’m just starting with my foodblog and Im currently looking for other recipe inspirations in my adventure to great cooking experiences… Its also my dream to compile my own versions of good recipes, you’ve just inspired me to pursue my dream… thanks and happy cooking

  16. Good to see you back Janet. I already follow you on facebook and I see the pictures you post of Marc. He has grown into a beautiful boy. I don’t know much about Asian cuisine but I love ginger, so I am sure I would like the chicken you made.

  17. Congrats on the cookbook! I got here via foodgawker and a few clicks on various links..can’t quite remember. Going to go explore the rest of the site now!

  18. I missed your tasty Chinese recipes a lot! I am so happy for you that you found another book store selling point!!! Yeah to you!

    Thgis recipe looks so tasty & lovely too! 🙂

    I just subscribed through email!! Kisses from Brussels to you!!

  19. Hi,

    I am always on the lookout for authentic asian recipes because I love different kinds of asian cuisine! This definitely is as authentic as it gets and I am looking forward to browsing through more in the future!

    Congrats on the book published. My dream is to get one published as well. I hope I am as lucky as you!

    Feel free to visit my website as well!

    Cheers!
    Archana

  20. Hi,

    I always am cooking and enjoy authentic recipes. I never really cook asian food, but I’ve been on a little bit of an asian food kick as of late. This Recipe for the chicken looks great and should be an excellent place for me to start honing my Asian food cooking skills. The only Asian food I’ve ever ate home cooked is Filipino so this will be a new experience for me.

  21. Glad to see you back…I am sure that baby Marc is getting big 🙂 This chicken with sesame oil looks delicious, I always enjoy dishes that uses sesame oil, so fragrant. Anyway, congratulations on your cookbook 🙂

Leave a Reply

