Uncategorized

How to make your own marinated olives

One of my neighbours always has some marinated or non-marinated olives at home, because their daughters love them so much. I have always want to make myself some as the way she told me sounds very simple. So I bought 2 packs of olives  to give a try. I thought this will be a perfect low carb snack as I am trying to get into shape.
Tonight after putting Marc into bed, I was supposed to sit down and learn some German but my hands got itchy after 20 mins. My hands got a bit itchy as I have not spent much time in the kitchen today except preparing solids for Marc. Due to my diet, I had boiled spinach and poached salmon. As a food lover, how boring is that!!! So I went to click click click on my laptop to search a recipe I like, and I found this article from Wine and Food Travel which I like best, it makes it so easy to prepare that I can remember this formula and repeat with some variation in the future.
I particularly like the basic formula it describes: whole olives, olive oil, citrus, and herbs. Combine, marinate, serve. And that the amount of olive oil required is half of that of the citrus you use. However, it did not mention garlic which I find this cannot be missed. I have skipped salt and pepper as I have used red pepper flakes and the olives are brined so no more salt is needed I think. So here is my version, I have used orange juice to to make it less sour.
Ingredients:
  • 200g unpitted green olives
  • 200g unpitted black olives
  • 1/3 cup orange juice
  • 1/3 cup lemon juice
  • 1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 tbsp chopped rosemary
  • 1 tbsp dried oregon
  • zest of 1 lemon
  • 1 tbsp chopped garlic
  • 1 tsp red pepper flakes

The basic formula for marinated olives is laughably simple: whole olives, olive oil, citrus, and herbs. Combine, marinate, serve. That’s it.

Directions:

  1. Place olives in a food container.
  2. Grate lemon zest, squeeze lemon and orange juice. All add to the olives.
  3. Pour in the olive oil, add in the herbs, garlic and red pepper flakes to the olives.
  4. Toss and let it marinate in the fridge overnight or up to 4 days but probably they would not last that long.
  5. Feel free to serve with wine and cheese or just as a snack.

Enjoy!

Actually while I am writing this up, I cannot wait for even a few hours and spoon out some in a nice small bowl, pour a glass of white wine to enjoy while I am typing! The olives are already finger licking, haha!

6 thoughts on “How to make your own marinated olives

  1. Janet I love marinating olives. These olives are one of the ways we marinate them in Greece. I also marinate them in a few other ways, one using dried coriander and the other throumbi, I think it is called savory in English.

  2. I don’t fancy marinated olives for some reason. I find it too strong for me but I’m sure the dressing will make a good roasting marinade…

  3. I’ve been snacking on olives a lot lately, but I rarely marinate my own. It’s a great idea since you can adjust the flavors as you wish. Adding garlic sounds perfect here!

Leave a Reply

