American Cuisine · Kids-friendly · Soup/ Salads · Western Cooking

My recent whereabouts & Carrot Coriander Soup Recipe

Feeling pretty bad that I cannot post regularly lately, one of the reasons is that I have finally decided to take some German lessons. I have always had phobia to learn German due to previous experiences, it is so difficult to learn that I do not want to waste money until I am ready to go for it again.  I had four lessons already and am glad so far so good, this time I am more motivated and determined, all because of baby Marc. But actually another major reason which restrain me from blogging is that Marc always interferes when I try to work on my computer. In theory I can blog when he is asleep but I am also tired after a long day, in this case, actually I now post more food photos with short descriptions of the recipe so I can go back to refer to when I make again.

A nice thing I would like to share with you is that this Tuesday, I was asked by my friend, Cara @Baselbagels.com to take some event and food photos for an apéro which she was catering for. It was really a big achievement for her as that day she had to cater for almost 120 people. As for me I get the flavor of being a food photographer for the first time and it was fun and a new venture for me. I hope there will be more of these opportunities.

So I take this opportunity to share some highlights with you of that day as that day was the second snowy day of this Winter in Basel and the road condition was getting worse in the last afternoon but luckily everything went well as scheduled.

And last but not the least, my carrot coriander soup adapted from Cara’s version, it was so easy to make and it tasted so good, reminds me the Covent Garden Soup from UK which I used to purchase from the supermarket when I was in university.

Carrot Coriander Soup

Ingredients:

  • 1 kg carrots, peels and cut into cubes
  • 1 cup, chopped onion
  • 3 leek columns cut into pieces
  • 1 tbsp coriander
  • about 1.5 litre chicken stock or vegetable stock
  • extra virgin olive oil
  • sour cream/ crème fraiche/ thick plain yogurt

Directions:

  1. Pour some olive oil into soup pan, turn to medium high heat, add in the chopped onion and leek and stir for a minute or so. Then add in the carrots, stir and simmer at medium heat for 10 mins until the vegetable are getting soft.
  2. Add in the coriander, cook for 1 min. Pour in the stock, bring to boil, cover and turn to medium heat and simmer for about 20 mins.
  3. Turn the heat off, puree the soup with handheld mixer.
  4. Add 2 tablespoon of sour cream/ crème fraiche/ thick plain yogurt, stir well. Serve when hot, or heat up the soup where necessary without boiling. Or simply add the sour cream directly to the soup when served.
  5. Garnish with some fresh coriander.

Notes.

The soup freezes well. I left out the sour cream for the portion I wanted to freeze.

A few days later, I made pumpkin soup in a similar fashion with leek and onion, except the spices I used were different, namely coriander, paprika, nutmeg and cumin. It came out delicious too!

9 thoughts on “My recent whereabouts & Carrot Coriander Soup Recipe

  1. I am glad that you are okey & good-for-you that you are taking German lessons! I also took those lessons in Midscool, for 2 years! It isn’t easy at all with the nominative, datif & accusatif, genetif, etc.

    Your soup is looking very appetizing!

    Viel Glück! xxx

  2. Chinese is indeed difficult for Caucasians, I tried to learn Japanese it is also v difficult. I think it’s just difficult to learn any language.

  3. This is one of my all time favourite soups, just so tasty, and it would appear quite simple to make! thanks for sharing 🙂

  4. Hi Dom, thanks for stopping by. I did try the same recipe with pumpkin, worked as good. But I used a bit of nutmeg and 2 more spices.

Leave a Reply

