Asian Cooking · Low Carb · Main Dish · Seafood/ Meat · Soup/ Salads · Vietnamese Cuisine

Bo Luc Lac (Vietnamese Shaking Beef Salad)

Last week, after my German class, I went to Lily’s for lunch. Weather was so hot that I did not feel like to have curry with rice or Pad Thai which I normally would order. I wanted to have something like and wanted to try something new, so I saw Bo Luc Lac and gave a try. I was a little worried if I would like it but I took the courage and came out from my comfort zone. I have never tried Bo Luc Lac in Hong Kong or Asia so I cannot tell if this is a really good one. But it came out to be a very light and refreshing dish, the beef was very tender and was cooked just right at medium. I was so happy to know this dish and tempted to make something similar at home the following day.

I searched online and found that you should use watercress but I have never seen watercress here, so I used salad cress and baby spinach instead, and I used the garden herbs I have namely thyme, small leaves basil and oregano. Most recipes I saw used oyster sauce in the marinade but I skipped it as I got a piece of US entrecôte and with good quality beef, it’s not necessary to use too much or too strong seasonings.

This is a great summer salad, I was lighter after having this no carb salad 2 times. I felt so satisfied and did not feel hungry without any carbohydrate intake. I highly recommend this as a fitness salad and it is so easy and quick to prepare as the ingredients for the vinaigrette are stock at home at all time.

Ingredients:

  • 150g beef entrecôte/ sirloin, cut into 2cm cubes, cut away the side of fat if there is any and save for later use.
  • 1/2 small red onion, thinly sliced
  • 10 cherry tomatoes. cut into halves
  • small handful salad cress,
  • a good handful baby spinach
  • mixed fresh herbs: thyme, oregano and basil

Beef Marinade:

  • 1.5 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tbsp fish sauce
  • 1 tbsp sesame oil
  • black pepper

Pickled red onion:

  • White vinegar
  • 1 tsp sugar

Vinaigrette:

  • 1 shallot, thinly sliced
  • 1.5 tsp sugar
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/4 cup rice vinegar
  • 2 tbsp white aceto balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tsp light soy sauce
  • pinch of chili flakes (optional)
  • 1 tbsp water
  • 1 tsp lemon juice

Directions:

  1. Thinly sliced the red onion, place into a small bowl, cover with vinegar and add it sugar, stir to ensure mix well and sugar is melted, set aside for at least 10 minutes.
  2. Marinate the beef cubes in a bowl and set aside.
  3. Wash and drain the baby spinach, herbs and salad cress. Remove the excess water with a salad spinner if you have one.
  4. Mix the vinaigrette in a bowl and set aside.
  5. When ready, heat a wok or large pan in high heat, add the fat cut out from the entrecôte or sirloin into the wok, move around in the wok to get the oil out. In this way, you may not need to add extra cooking oil, if too try, then add a little.
  6. Add in the beef cubes and seared all sides for a total of about two minutes, in order to get medium rare. Stir occasionally but not too many times to get all sides seared and a bit brown. Remove the wok from heat when done.
  7. Discard the liquid from the pickled red onion.
  8. To assemble the Bo Luc Lac, toss the cress, spinach, herbs and cherry tomatoes before transfer to a serving bowl or plate, pour the vinaigrette on top of the salad, scattered the seared beef and finally the pickled red onion.
  9. Serve immediately with a mint tea or any refreshing drink you feel like.

Enjoy!

A sneak peek of my home grown herbs : )

Thyme

Oregano

Basil

2 thoughts on “Bo Luc Lac (Vietnamese Shaking Beef Salad)

  1. I also am a big fan of Vitnamees food & this is a great & appetizing recipe! Yum Yum Yum!
    So colourful, bright & appetizing too! 🙂 xxx greets from Mechelen, Belgium!

Leave a Reply

