Cajun Cuisine · Sauces/ Seasonings/ Condiments/ Cooking Ingredients · Western Cooking

Homemade Creole Seasoning



I had 6 weeks holiday in Hong Kong. Had so much good food that I have to slowly go back to my cooking mood. I had hardly cooked during these 6 weeks. I miss the hot and sunny weather there, coming back, the air temperature has already cooled down considerably and feel a bit chilly in the morning and evening.
I like one pan or one pot rice. Prepared Jambalaya for the first time and one of the important seasonings is Creole seasonings which I don’t have a stored bought version so I found in the internet and has created my own bottle which I have used some smoked paprika to give a little twist to the original version. It is also a great gift which I made enough to give to my friend.
Ingredients:
  • 3 tbsp smoked paprika
  • 2 tbsp sweet paprika
  • 2 tbsp dried basil
  • 2 tbsp dried oregano
  • 1 tbsp dried celery leaves
  • 1 tbsp dried parsley
  • 2 tbsp onion powder
  • 2 tbsp garlic powder
  • 1 tbsp white pepper
  •  1 tbsp black pepper
  • 3 tbsp salt

Direction:

  1. To make, you simply mix all ingredients in a bowl and then transfer to an airtight bottle/ jar. Keep at room temperature in the cupboard with your other spices.
  2. You can use in Jambalaya, chili con carne and other cajun dishes as you desire.

 

3 thoughts on “Homemade Creole Seasoning

  1. Welcome back, I missed your tasty recipes! 🙂

    This is an ideal food gift & I will make this spice combination!
    Wonderful too! 🙂 xxx

Leave a Reply

