Asian Cooking · Chinese Cuisine · Main Dish · Veg/ Fruits

Pumpkin with Chinese Black Bean Sauce (豆鼓煮南瓜)

20121024-235928.jpg

It’s nice to stock up some pumpkins at home, however, once cut opened, do you also have the same problem with me? That is to think of different dishes to finish them. I have made a batch of pumpkin, carrot and leek soup and still got some left, all of a sudden it came to my mind that my mom had a Chinese way of preparing pumpkin which is very easy to prepare and yet very delicious, particularly for those who do not like pumpkins very much. Thanks to the black bean sauce which does not taste too pumpkinny if you know what I mean. Bas enjoyed this dish a lot and I thought maybe I will cook one time for my in-laws to try when they visit us this Christmas, they don’t normally eat pumpkins, wonder if they are courageous to try, ha ha!

Ingredients:

  • 500g butternut squash
  • 1 shallot, cut into thin slices
  • 3 cloves of garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 small column of white part of leek (optional), thinly sliced
  • A little Red chili (if desire to have some spiciness, I can’t add too much as I have kids at home)
  • 2 tbsp fermented black beans, rinsed, crushed briefly (you can also use ready made Black bean sauce such as from the Brand Lee Kam Kee abbrev. LKK)
  • 1 cup Chicken or vegetable stock if you are vegan
  • Spring onion, for garnish

20121025-000158.jpg

 

Directions:

  1. Peel and cut the pumpkin into bite size pieces
  2. Heat some cooking oil in a wok or deep pan, add in the shallots and garlic, stir fried for a minute or so then add in the pumpkin and leek, stir to mix well for one to two mins, keep stirring in the meantime.
  3. Pour in the stock, mix and bring to boil, turn the heat to medium high and simmer for 10-15 mins or until the liquid is half evaporated.
  4. Add in the briefly crushed black beans and red chili, keep stirring from time to time until the liquid is almost evaporated, don’t let it completely dried out.
  5. Serve immediately and garnish with some spring onion on top.
  6. We normally serve with steamed rice along with other chinese dishes at home.
Enjoy!

 My favorite place to buy pumpkins in Bottmingen, Basel Land.

5 thoughts on “Pumpkin with Chinese Black Bean Sauce (豆鼓煮南瓜)

  1. I made this tonight and it was outstanding. I added some other ingredients I had around (ginger and choi sum). Do you mind if I post this recipe, slightly altered, on my blog?

Leave a Reply

