Asian Cooking · Featured · Fusion/ Contemporary · Japanese Cuisine · Low Carb · Seafood/ Meat · Small dishes/ Appetizers/ Tapas

Avocado and Tuna Cerviche

Tuna avocado Cerviche

Happy New Year to you all! I have been very quiet in the blogosphere. One excuse I have is because of busy lately in the Christmas and New Year Period. However, when I looked back it’s mainly because I have not opened my laptop as much as I did in the past. I use the iPad more often. Of course there is a WordPress app but it’s never as user friendly as using the computer in particular with the formatting, there is no way to make bullet points, I would need to draft from the app and then finalize online using the laptop.

I do have a few unfinished draft and here is one of them. I have been using my iPhone to take food photos instead of using SLR. I am now less picky than before. I have been thinking recently if I should stop blogging totally, because my aim of blogging is to keep the recipes I like and that I would definitely make again and again. I have discovered a few apps (e.g. Keep Recipes and Food Reporter) which serve the purpose but then I would store by recipes here and there but not in one place. I hope to get back to my blogging routine together this year and not distracted by other things. In 2013, my primary goals are more blogging and continue learning German.

Without further ado here is my avocado tuna cerviche, extremely to quick and easy to make, it’s a fusion of Mexican and Japanese cooking style, hope you will like it.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 avocado, cubed
  • 130 -150g sushi grade tuna, cubed
  • 3 tbsp tobiko
  • handful edamame beans, shell removed
  • 1 tbsp coriander, finely chopped
  • 2 tbsp spring onion (green part), finely chopped
  • 2 tbsp spring onion (white part), finely chopped
  • toasted black and white sesame seeds
  • 1 red chili , thinly sliced, you will need 5-6 pieces, use more if you like it more spicy

 

Dressing:

  • juice of 1/2 lemon or lime
  • 1/2 tbsp white balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tbsp light soy sauce
  • 2 tbsp sesame oil
  • 1.5 tbsp mayonnaise
  • 1/2 tbsp condensed milk
  • salt & pepper to taste
  1. Directions:


  1. Place the cubed avocado in a mixing bowl, drizzle some lemon or lime juice to avoid the avocado from turning dark from oxidation.
  2. Add in the tuna cubes, tobiko and remaining ingredients from above.
  3. Squeeze in the remaining citrus juice and the rest of the ingredients for the dressing. toss and mix well with a wooden spoon.
  4. Transfer to a serving bowl and serve immediately.

Note.

This salad is not good to prepare in advance as the citrus juice to make the tuna fish turns white over time and it will affect the presentation and taste of the tuna fish.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Avocado and Tuna Cerviche

  1. A Happy 2013 to you & your husband & Marc too! I wish you tons of laughter, fiun & great food & other adventures too! 🙂

    We missed your tasty recipes too! 🙂 xxx

    This dish sings to me & is looking quite appetizing too! 🙂 I love the tuna & avocado combo a lot! 🙂 xxx

Leave a Reply

