Low Carb · Recent · Small dishes/ Appetizers/ Tapas · Veg/ Fruits · Veggie or Meat-free Meal

How to make Kale Chips

best kale chips

Finding the best temp for my kale chips : 100C for 80″

greenKale.jpg

Green kale seen in Oberwil (BL)

purple kale

Purple kale seen in Oberwil (BL)

Kale chips (before put into oven).jpg

Kale chips before put into oven

Few days ago I tried to make kale chips for the first time. Can’t believe it was so easy to make and so delicious that before they cooled down completely, I have finished them in no time. I posted a photo in my Facebook page and unexpectedly got quite a lot of responses, can’t believe it has gained quite a lot interests.

Kale is known as Grünkohl in German; Ferderkohl in Switzerland and Boerenkool in Dutch. My first encounter of this leafy vegetable was used in Stompot, a dish that the finely chopped vegetable is cooked until soft and mixed with mashed potatoes, and goes with a cooked smoked sausage.

Then since I started making green smoothie, I learnt that kale is a wonderful leafy green vegetable, an alternative to spinach. However it is not easy to find kale in Switzerland. After I have kept asking around these 2 years, I know where I can get in my neighbourhood.

Look out in the farmers’ market around you.

Kale_bielbenken.jpg

Green and purple kale selling in farmers’ store

 

To make kale chips:

  1. Remove the kale leaves from the stalks and tear them in bite size pieces.
  2. Wash and drain with salad spinner.
  3. Preheat the oven at 100C.
  4. Lie the kale leaves on a greased baking tray.
  5. Rub the kale leaves with olive oil, and sprinkle with a little sea salt. Optional: you can add a few pinches of spices, namely cayenne pepper, chili and or cumin.
  6. Bake in the oven for 80mins, the leaves should still be green.
  7. Since they taste so good, you probably want to make a few batches.
  8. Cool down and enjoy ! You can also keep them in airtight box and be kept for a few days.

 

 

4 thoughts on “How to make Kale Chips

  1. Heard that Kale is very nutritious and can help preventing numerous diseases. I did try once when I was in Melbourne last year. However, it is so hard to find Kale here in HK. Let see if I can plant it by myself.
    Kale chips is definitely a good snack option.

  2. Kale needs to be grown in cold weather and they taste sweeter after overnight under below freezing temperature, that’s the Dutch way of saying. Palm kale I like even better. Only these last 2 years easier to find in Switzerland. I can buy from the farm near our place : )

Leave a Reply

