Recipes

Almond Joy Muffins & a letter to Elle #ElleAPalooza

In the remembrance of our fellow food blogger, Elle who have passed away very unexpected on 28th January. #ElleAPalooza

Dear Elle

On 29th January, I was shocked to learn from Facebook that you had suddenly left us.

You don’t know me in person but we have crossed each other in the blogosphere in Foodie Blogroll Forum in the Royal Joust Monthly Food Blogger Events in 2008, I had just started blogging at that time.

I cannot express how much grief I have for you but you are in our hearts these days since you have left us. I hope your family will stay strong. I admire your creativity, the jewelry you made are so pretty, I wish I had bought something from you, I thought I would wait a bit and not be a shopaholic for once but then it was already all too late. 

I actually am not aware you love muffins until I have chosen to make your Almond Joy Muffins. I was just craving for some the day before, without going through your list of recipes, I just simply went to the search box and type in muffin and then without hesitation, I have chosen your Almond Joy Muffins. I wonder if you have in some form or shapes conveyed me to make muffins.

I turned some of them into mini muffins and my son, Marc loves them. I have taken some to Marc’s school and let his schoolmates and teachers to enjoy together. They all love it, you see, your muffins have brought a lot of joy all of us.

I have adapted slightly by using coconut oil instead of oil. And I have used vanilla essence instead of almond extract. The batter yield 12 mini muffins and 8 normal size muffins. They are the best muffins I have made, the ingredients you used were just right. I am not exaggerating, they are absolutely divine! They didn’t taste too coconutty at all, not too moist and not too try and not too sweet at all. The idea of using coconut milk is awesome. They kept well for the next day. I have already planned to bake this again next week for the rest of my family to try.

Rest in peace, you will be missed and remain in our hearts!

 

With much love

Janet aka Gourmet Traveller 88

8 Feb 2014

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Almond Joy Muffins & a letter to Elle #ElleAPalooza

  1. Elle was a big fan of coconut milk, something I don’t use very often, but I guess I need to try it more. Lovely muffins, Janet.

  2. Hi Jenn, thanks for stopping by. I have changed to a new blog template and seem to be able to resume my blogging activities. Still need to add the foodie blogroll publisher widget back.

  3. YUM! She was a muffin fiend! She would loved the change to coconut oil. Probably added just that extra sumptin. Like Elle did to our lives.

Leave a Reply

