Bits & Bites

Made best crêpes!!! I feel like a Parisienne this morning!

Today : 9 Feb 2014 (Sunday), Stormy and rainy

Made a galette (buckwheat crêpe) batter yesterday, as it said it has to be chilled overnight in the fridge.

This morning, crawled out of bed, still half asleep. Went to the kitchen, took out the bowl of batter, left on the kitchen top and crawled back into bed. Recipe said the batter needs to be rest at room temperature for about an hour before frying.

By this time, Marc was waking up, we both played and giggled a bit before getting out of bed. If time allows, I prefer to get up slowly.

Took a shower, went to the kitchen, quickly whisked the batter.

Is the batter too thin? Does it look like heavy cream?

Yeah, looks ok to me, try one, you can always add more flour, right?

Heat up the Tefal pancake pan to medium high. Drop a little butter into the pan. Lift up the pan. Pour the batter into the center of the pan using a soup ladle. Swirled quickly to cover the pan evenly.

Oh crap, I mean crêpe, it works!!!!! Flipped over, oh man, this is really cool! Just the way I want it!

I feel like a Parisienne!!! This is the best crêpes I made. (I wish I have made this long long time ago). David Lebovitz, you rock.

P came over, wrapped his arms around me.

You feel like a Parisienne.

Yes, I feel like I am in Paris. I can make this myself! They are not too buckwheat look, not that dark, quite subtle actually.

When I was in University, I went to Paris a few times, and every time, I would go to a random creperie and order a nutella crepe. Now up one level, I won’t buy from a random one anymore. This is my favorite creperie which I would go every time when I am in Paris.

So you are my best Parisienne cook then.

I am just a pretentious Parisienne cook.

Oh really, then you are a pretentious Parisienne bitch then.

The remaining conversation needs to be censored before published, ha ha! Haven’t had a light joke for a long time. This feels good. It’s good to spice up a little bit on a Sunday morning!

And the sun is coming out!

A little side note:

I used to go to a random creperie in the past but since I discovered Breizh Cáfe a few years ago through David’s blog. I won’t easily go to other creperies anymore.

Another good one in London: La Crêperie de Hampstead is also my all-time favorite but seems to have closed down in Nov 2013?! Pity, I had a lot of good memories there ! C’est la vie!

 

David’s buckwheat pancake (galette) batter:

  • 2 cups (500 ml) whole milk
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
  • 3 tablespoons (80 gr) butter, salted or unsalted, melted
  • 1/2 cup (70 gr) buckwheat flour
  • 3/4 cup (105 gr) all-purpose flour
  • 3 large eggs

 

Leave a Reply

