how to prepare mochi/ savoury Kirimochi (切り餅) at home

grilled kirimochi

Grilled Kirimochi with Soy sauce & honey

Mochi, is an overall term for Japanese rice cake which is made of glutinous rice pounded into paste and molded into shape. In Japan it is traditionally made in a ceremony called mochitsuki as a festive food for Japanese New Year. Meanwhile it is also available all year round but they are machine cut and not hand pounded, known as Kirimochi.

kirimochi

Fig. 2 Pack of individually wrapped Kirimochi (切り餅)

I found a pack of individually wrapped Kirimochi (切り餅) Fig. 2 from Japan Centre, UK and bought a pack home to try. In the past, my friends would buy a pack and take them with us to BBQ, rather unusal and creative I thought.

To eat this at home as a little savory snack is incredibly easy and quick to make and not much washing to do and it is also fat-free!!!

Ingredients:

  • Kirimochi (切り餅), unwrapped (1-2 pieces per person)
  • 1.5 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1.5 tbsp clear honey
  • ground sesame seeds
  • seaweed (nori), cut into pieces, big enough to wrap the kirimochi, square or rectangular shaped as you desired.

Method:

  • Mix the honey and soy sauce, stir until they are well mixed.
  • Heat up a non-stick pan, I prefer making 2 pieces at a time, so to better control as the Kirimochi will cool down and they are best served as soon as they are cooked.
  • When the pan is hot enough, place 2 pieces kirimochi onto the pan apart (Fig. 3) so they will not stick together when hot, they will get puffy and expand to almost double in size. This will take a few minutes. No cooking oil is needed, it is amazing that they will not stick to the pan at all. Grill on both sides (Fig. 4). 
  • When the kirimochi are cooked on both sides and turned a little brown. Brush the soy sauce honey mix to the top side and then place the kirimochi on a piece of seaweed and sprinkle some ground sesame seeds on top with a sesame seeds mill if you happen to have one (Fig. 1). Otherwise non-ground sesame seeds are fine too. Lastly fold the seaweed round the kirimochi.
  • As soon as the kirimochi is away from heat, it will reduce its sized again and not puffy anymore. Serve when it is hot to enjoy its softness and super chewiness but do try a small bite first in case it is too hot. The mochi will harden when it cools down.

Enjoy!

Kirimochi 02

Fig. 3 Kirimochi placed on a heated nonstick pan

Kirimochi expanded

Fig. 4 Kirimochi cooked and expanded to almost doubled its size

Reference:

23 thoughts on “how to prepare mochi/ savoury Kirimochi (切り餅) at home

  1. I have not tasted yet but looks very tasty. After one and half year I’ m going to japan at that time I will try. but i want to try to make myself in Nepal at my home. thank you very much for sharing information about making mochi/ savoury Kirimochi

    Like

  2. You mean the soft one filled with red beans, I made them from scratch at home with green tea powder or I also tried those from japanese shops.

    Like

  3. mmmmm this fried up with SANCHO spices and TASHI sauce is the most delicious thing my mouth has ever tasted!

    i will be leaving japan soon, does anyone know where I can buy these ingredients in the US or N. Zealand?

    thanks!
    megan

    Like

  4. Hi Megan, are you going to buy one from Japan and ship it home with you : ) In US, I only know in New York they have good Japanese grocery shops in downtown and also a big Japanese supermarket in New Jersey. There are some websites also that u can buy online : )

    Like

  5. Awesome !!! I love mochi so much. I think the sweet rice for Kirimochi and usual Mochi is different, because Kirimochi is very-very sticky. Could you tell me what kind of glutinous rice for Kirimochi ? I would like to make myself.

    Like

  6. You can simply buy the glutinous rice flour from Chinese groceries store but the packing is not as nice as the Japanese ones but the outcome is the same.

    Like

  7. I recently bought a bag of kirimochi to try out this recipe. Do I have to keep them in the fridge until use? How long do they keep? Thanks!!

    Like

  8. Where do you keep the kirimochi? In the fridge or just regular room temperature storage? Are they freezable? How long do they keep?

    Thanks so much 🙂

    Kerstin

    Like

  9. Hi Kerstin, the ones I bought can be just stored in the cupboard at room temp. If I remember correctly, they have a few months shelf life. There should be an expiry or manufacturing dates on the pack, originally stated in japanese but sometimes there is an english label if exported to other countries. hope this helps.

    Like

  10. I have looked all over my hometown and failed to find kirimochi. Can I make my own with a recipe similar to the recipes for sweet mochi I find online?

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.